LibGuides: FTS: Race and the American Vision: Start

New to the Library?

If this is one of your first times using the library to conduct college-level research, have no fear! I've pulled together some additional resources that will help you get started & answer any questions you may have. You are more than welcome to email me with any questions that arise or to ask anyone who works in the library for help.

Quick Answers
Fantastic overview of how to use the library & do research, including many common FAQs
Find Books on the Shelf
Gives a great overview of how to read call numbers and locate the items you want
Fact Checking
Tips on how to verify facts and weed out fake news
Library Tutorial
Use this excellent guide for a deep dive into how information is produced, shared, accessed and evaluated, including the important role libraries play in this process

Gah! I need help!

Research is difficult and nobody expects you to know how to do it all on your own. Check with your teacher if you aren't sure how to approach your assignment or want a second opinion on sources and strategies.

Stop by the Writing Center at any point during the process for expert advice from your talented peers. The Advising Center can help with issues such as time management and organization.

In the library, visit the reference desk and let us know how it's going. We're sitting there for a reason. Unless we're helping someone else, whatever we're doing is just killing time waiting for your questions. Don't be embarrassed - even seniors writing their theses ask us questions!

Find Books

To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via the search box on the library's homepage.

When you find books that look useful, write down the Location & the Call Number.

General Collection, A - PQ are on the Third Floor

General Collection, PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor

Oversize, A - Z are on the Third Floor

Reference, A - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor.

Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. The system is a little tricky to figure out at first, so don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk or Reference Desk. This guide will help, too.

Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.

You can check books out at the Information Desk.

Native American Reference Books

Reference books are an excellent way to get quality information fast. All the reference books are on the main floor of the library, Beck Hall side. Use the call numbers below to locate the books. If you're new to finding books in the library, consult this guide and/or ask at the Information Desk or Reference Desk.

American Indians at Risk - Ref E 98 .C87 A46 2014
This encyclopedia covers contemporary challenges in the lives of Native Americans (including social issues such as alcoholism, unemployment, and suicide).
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights - Ref KF8210.C5 E53 1997
More than 600 entries cover a variety of perspectives, issues, individuals, incidents, and court cases central to an understanding of the history of civil rights among American Indian peoples. The issue is a complicated one, expanding over a period of more than a century.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today - Ref E 76.2 .E527 2013
Subjects covered include: reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues. Organized into ten sections, the book also provides helpful sidebars and informative essays to address topics on casinos and gaming, sexual identity, education, and poverty.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - Ref E77 .G15 1998
Offers surveys of tribes, including history, migration, subsistence, modern history, and current issues. Use the index to locate nations that may have more than one name in use (e.g. Anishinabe / Ojibwe / Chippewa).
Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples - Ref E76.2 .P75 2000
Includes information about over 200 Native American groups in Canada and the U.S. Covers location, population, history, and culture.
Native Americans - Ref E93 .N32 2002
Provides essays related to the political and cultural issues surrounding Native Americans. Essays are supplemented by primary source documents.
Dictionary of Native American Literature - Ref PM 155 .D53 1994
For biographical and critical information about Native American authors and their works. Bibliographies included for further research.
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes - PS 153. 152 W47 1999
Provides entries on major authors, their works and characters.

Find Articles

Databases will let you access scholarly articles as well as newspapers and magazines. Use the following to track down articles. Utilize the search tips tab (above) for ideas on how to work with databases efficiently.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."

Librarian

Julie Gilbert

Email Me

Contact:

If you have any questions about research, an assignment, or the library in general, please contact me. I look forward to working with you!

Subjects: African Studies, Communication Studies, Physics, Political Science, Scandinavian Studies

Find Websites

To look for reputable websites, be thinking about the groups and organizations that would be a) involved in the conversation you are researching and b) experts in the field. Are there nonprofit groups working on your topic? Have you looked at tribal government websites or other government agencies? Here are a few recommendations to get you started:

FTS: Race and the American Vision: Start

Getting Started