LibGuides: FTS: Women in Modern East Asia: Finding Information

When is the Library Open?

Our usual hours are

M-Th 8am - 1am
F - 8am to 6pm
Sat - 10am - 6pm
Sun - 11am - 1am

They are shorter during J-term and breaks, longer during finals.

Where is Everything?

Upper Level - Quiet!
General books - A -PQ
Oversized books A-Z
Music Scores
College and Church Archives

Main Level - Loud!!!
General books PR - Z
Reference books A - Z
Reference desk - ask questions here

Lower Level - Semi Quiet
Videos
Journals in print
Government documents
Microfilm

Logging In

Sometimes you need to log into our system, such as if you're off campus and want to get into our databases or if you want to get a book or article from another library. To log in use your Gustavus account username and password.

Finding Articles

As you search databases, you will find that the library doesn't always have the full text of every article you think is useful. When articles are not available as PDF or HTML files, there's a yellow "find it!" button that will search for the article in other databases or offer you a chance to get a copy from another library, a process that usually takes a day or two.

Reference Books

Wikipedia isn't the only place to find background information. These specialized encyclopedias can be useful, too.

Women in World History - Ref HQ1115 .W6 1999 (17 vols.)
A biographical encyclopedia offering entries on 10,000 women from around the world. Includes indexes by era, geography, occupation, and name.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia - Ref DS 4 .L48 2002
Intended to be the most comprehensive standard reference work on the region, this set covers East, Southeast, South, Central, and West-Southwest Central Asia, from Japan to Turkey, Khazakstan to Indonesia. The focus in on the twentieth century, with articles covering places, peoples, geography, the arts, economics, religion, and more.

Catalog Search Box

Advanced Search · Finding Books in the Library

WorldCat

Search for Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.

Librarian

Reference Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

507-933-7567

Ask Us!

Research Help:

Visit the Reference Desk (main floor) (M-F 10:30-2:30)
Chat with a librarian (M-F10:30-2:30)
E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name and the best way to contact you)
Make an Appointment: schedule an appointment for a one-on-one consultation with a librarian
Fill out the Research Next Steps form; a librarian will respond with research suggestions and advice

Why We're Here

There are six librarians at Gustavus and we take turns being available to you at the reference desk. We may look busy, but we're really killing time between questions. You can ask us simple questions, like "where is this book?" or more complicated questions like "how can I find economic data on the mining industry in Namibia from the 1930s?" Or you cou ask us a general question like "I have this assignment, and I'm not sure where to start." The reference desk is for you! And we're all nice people - don't be shy.