LibGuides: LAS 399: Senior Capstone: Catalog & Databases

Planning Your Research

Photo of South America from Encyclopedia Britannica

Your interdisciplinary research will require lots of exploring widely, following leads found in the sources you uncover, and circling back to dig some more.. As you plan your research, note down all the differentt search terms you might use. As you read, you'll discover better search terms, so be prepared to return to your favorite search engines to try again.

Catalog Search Box

Advanced Search · Finding Books in the Library

Databases

ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, these databases cover 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and particularly useful for seeing who has cited whom.
HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies) This link opens in a new window
An online annotated bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Over 5,000 new references are added each year.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
OAISter This link opens in a new window
Catalog of digital resources from open archive collections. Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in mostly social science journals. The search engine is pretty whacked. Try lots of different terms and phrases.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Not just science! Includes social sciences and humanities articles.

Interlibrary Loan

You will almost certainly need to use Interlibrary Loan. You can request books using the "find it" button or links or you can fill out a form. (See the other tab, above, for details.)

Use your Gustavus account to log in. Then check your email. A link for downloading articles will only be live for a week, but you can keep the articles forever. Books will be sent here and can be claimed from behind the front desk once they arrive. You can't keep them forever, alas.

Librarian

Dan Mollner

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Film and Media Studies, French, Geology, German, Japanese, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies, Music, Russian and Eastern European Studies, Sociology and Anthropology, Spanish