LibGuides: A Guide to Greek, Latin &amp; Classical Studies: Primary Source Materials

Primary Source Materials in the Gustavus Library

To find primary source materials available in the Gustavus library, go to the Advanced Search in the library catalog. In one of the search boxes, enter the word "source" and set the field to "Subject." Then, enter keywords related to your topic in another box. This search will bring back primary source materials that are in edited volumes.

Primary Source Materials on the Web

Many primary sources are available online; use these links to discover the variety of information available to you.

Ancient World Mapping Center
A site devoted to GIS and cartographic knowledge in the field; includes and online map room.
Beazley Archive
Search tens of thousands of quality photographic images from the Beazley Archive, which is affiliated with the University of Oxford.
Classical Works Knowledge Base
Search online versions of Greek and Latin authors in original languages and English translations. Also great for tracking down references to texts that you come across.
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
Offers a digital library of Latin literature from the Classical period through the 18th century.
Electronic Resources for Classics
This page contains numerous links to professional organizations, electronic publications, e-texts, educational institutions, and much more.
Homer Multitext Project
"The Homer Multitext project seeks to present the textual transmission of the Iliad and Odyssey in a historical framework. Such a framework is needed to account for the full reality of a complex medium of oral performance that underwent many changes over a long period of time. These changes, as reflected in the many texts of Homer, need to be understood in their many different historical contexts. The Homer Multitext provides ways to view these contexts both synchronically and diachronically."
Internet Classics Archive
Contains work from more than 50 different classical authors, along with English translations.
Perseus Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser
Descriptions and images of Greco-Roman art objects, sites, and buildings.
Perseus Digital Library
Searchable digital library that includes primary sources, secondary materials, and teaching tools.
Voice of the Shuttle: Classical Studies
Resources are sorted by category and type (e.g. language resources, conferences, journals, etc.)