Dictionary of American History New York: Scribner's 2003 3rd ed. edition An encyclopedia of political, cultural, social, economic, and military history in the United States. The ninth volume contains historical maps and primary documents. • Location(s): Ref E 174 .D52 2003 (9 vols.)
Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States Danbury: Grolier 2005 Covers Latinos in the United states in over 650 essays that tackle topics from baseball to Zorro, significant places, groups of people, event, and more. The fourth volume includes significant primary source documents. • Location(s): Ref E 184 .S75 E587 2005
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: the Black Experience in the Americas New York: Simon and Schuster Macmillan 2006 2nd edition A wide-ranging encyclopedia covering people, places, events, concepts, and topics of all sorts. Articles are written by specialists and have useful bibliographies. • Location(s): Ref E 185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History New York: Scribner's 2001 Provides in-depth articles on American thought and culture. Topics covered include historical approaches, cultural groups, major cultural regions, and political thought. • Location(s): Ref E 169 .E624 2001 (3 vols.)
Encyclopedia of American Social History New York: Scribner's 1993 Filling in the holes left in conventional political/biographical history sources, this set covers topics such as religion, class, gender, race, popular culture, regionalism, and everyday life from pre-Columbian to modern times in lengthy and well-documented articles. • Location(s): Ref HN 57 .E58 1993 (3 vols.)
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference 2004 Organized by topic rather than alphabetically, this set covers the antislavery movement, civil rights, the women's movement, labor, Native American, religious and Utopian, antiwar and student movements, LGBT, environmental, and global justice movements, each with in-depth chronological coverage and analysis. • Location(s): Ref HN 57 .E594 2004
Encyclopedia of American Studies New York: Grolier Educational 2001 Published under the auspices of the American Studies Association, this est covers concepts key to the interdisciplinary field, issues related to class, race and ethnicity, cultural institutions, popular culture, social history and more. • Location(s): Ref E 169.1 .E625 2001 (4 vols.)
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio 2000 Subtitled "A Political, Social, and Military History," this source attempts to "fashion a comprehensive source for a boundless subject." It offers over 1,600 articles on topics related to the war and its context, events leading up to the war and its consequences. There is a special section devoted to primary sources, as well as photographs, drawings, and maps. • Location(s): Ref E 468 .H47 2000 (5 vols.)
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio 2006 Covers the causes and results of the American Revolution in over 900 articles addressing people, events, organizations, and key ideas. • Location(s): Ref E 208 .E64 2006 (5 vols.)
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century New York: Scribner's 2001 Covers major ideas and issues in American social, political, and military history with articles as specific as "The Chinese Exclusion Act" and as broad as "Domestic Life." • Location(s): Ref E 169.1 .E626 2001 (3 vols.) 1800s
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century New York: Scribner's 1996 An ambitious survey of American cultural, social and intellectual history in broad articles arranged topically. Each essay/article is followed by a thorough and very useful bibliography for further research. • Location(s): Ref E740.7 .E53 1996 (4 vols.) 1900s
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Oxford: Oxford UP 2001 Solid, scholarly articles on a part of the world that has been the site of significant cultural developments in archaeology, history and the arts. • Location(s): Ref F 1218.6 .O95 2001 2001
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture Farmington Hills, MI: St. James Press 2000 A compendium of short articles on figures and ideas that were a common part of the American experience in the twentieth century. • Location(s): Ref E 169.1 .S764 2000 (5 vols.)
