Skip to main content

HIS 140: American History Since the Civil War: Microfilm

Where are the Microfilms

The microfilm machine and the microfilms are located on the library's first floor in the southwest corner.

 

 

 

Bottom image from the College and Lutheran Church Archives, Digital Collections, College Photographs

Microfilm Collections at Gustavus

  • American Culture Series
    Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International 1979 
    A large collections of microfilmed books and pamphlets, with a printed index to its contents.
    • Location(s): Shelved in Microfilm Room under Reprint Series Ref Z 1215 .A583 
    1496-1875
  • American Women's Diaries
    New Canaan, CT: Readex 1984 
    This collection of microfilm reproduces the diaries of women who lived and traveled in the western U.S., New England, and the South.
    • Location(s): Microfilm Room - CT 3260 .A64 1984
  • The Cornell University Collection of Women's Rights Pamphlets
    Wooster, MN: Bell & Howell 1974 
    This collection of microfiche contains 117 pamphlets published between 1814 and 1912.
    • Location(s): Microfilm Room - Microfiche HQ 1236 .C675 1974 
    1814-1912
  • FBI File on Malcolm X
    Wilmington: Scholary Resources 1996 
    An unusual primary source, reproducing the actual FBI file kept on Malcolm X. Additional FBI surveillance files are available under Microfilm E185.61 .M315 1978. The library owns a similar microfilm collection that covers the FBI file on W.E.B. Du Bois with information the agency collected from 1942 to 1963. These files, though declassified, have been heavily censored and many portions of text are blacked out. Provides not only what the authorities believed was significant evidence on these public figures and their behavior, but insight into how they interpreted that evidence.
    • Location(s): Mircofilm E 185.97 .L5 F23 1996
  • Papers of the NAACP: Part 4, Vorting Rights Campaign, 1916-1950 with supplement: General Office Files, 1956-1965
    Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America 1995 
    A firsthand record of the activities of the NAACP in the fight for voting rights. Includes information on voter registration campaigns, reports on the political climate of the times, committee recommendations, accounts of resistance to voter registration campaigns, etc. Indexed by subject and by principal correspondent.
    • Location(s): Microfilm E185.5 .N276 1986, pt.4 
    1916-1950
  • Records of the Confederate States of America, 1859-1872
    Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources 1967 
    Known as Pickett papers. Accompanied by a guide. These records, consisting of about 18,500 pieces, span the years 1858-1872, with the bulk of the material falling in the period April 1861-April 1865. They relate completely to the Confederate States of America: its formation, and the conduct of its internal, external and military affairs during its existence.
    • Location(s): Microfilm Room Main Level: JK9665 .C65 1967 
    1859-1872

Librarian

Jeff Jenson's picture
Jeff Jenson
Contact:
You can find me in the College and Lutheran Church Archives, the offices above the library's main entrance.
Website / Blog Page
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License