LibGuides: GWS 236: Gender, Sexuality, and the Holocaust: Holocaust Reference Works

Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature
Call Number: Ref PN56.H55 E53 2002
ISBN: 1573562572
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust by U. S. Holocaust Memorial Council Staff
Call Number: Ref G1797.21.E29 H5 1996
ISBN: 0028974514
Holocaust Literature
Call Number: Ref PN56.H55 H66 2003
ISBN: 0415929857

Recommended Reference Works

Reference works are fantastic resources at any stage of your research. Consult them when you have a topic idea, as they will give a concise overview of your topic, including key figures, terms, and concepts. Return to them midway through your research to help you identify (and begin to research) any gaps you may have. Many reference books are written by experts and offer not only information but also excellent bibliographies for further research. Use these bibliographies to track down other related sources.

Atlas of Nazi Germany - Ref DD 256.5 .F73354 1987
Maps, charts, and other visually-displayed data dealing with all aspects of the Nazi regime.
Encyclopaedia Judaica - Ref DS 102.8 .E496 2007
An excellent source for information on the Jewish people and religion, offering scholarly and in-depth articles, recently updated to include current research on historical and contemporary topics.
Encyclopedia of Genocide - Ref HV 6322.7 .E53 1999
This two volume set provides coverage of the Armenian Genocide, the Holocaust, and other instances of genocide throughout the world.
Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature - Ref PN56.H55 E53 2002
Profiles of more than 100 authors who survived, perished, or were closely connected to the Holocaust. Includes bibliographies of primary works and critical studies.
Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust - Ref DS135.E8 E45 2001 v.1-3
Three volumes of entries related to Jewish life during the centuries before and through the Holocaust. Third volume includes a chronology, selected bibliography by country, index of communities, and an index of persons.
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust - Ref D 804.3 .E53 1990 (4 vols.)
Offers lengthy articles on topics, each followed by a selective bibliography of useful sources. Covers people, places, events, and concepts.
Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History - Ref D 740 .E516 2005 (5 vols.)
These two specialized encyclopedias offer articles on a variety of topics related to the two world wars.
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust - Ref G1797.21.E29 H5 1996
This compilation of maps presents the evolution of the Holocaust. Contents include Europe before the war, the Holocaust in Eastern Europe, Nazi extermination camps, the Holocaust in Western Europe, the Holocaust in Central Europe, the Holocaust in Southern Europe and Hungary, Rescue and Jewish Armed resistance, death matches and liberation, and post war Europe 1945-1950.
Holocaust Encyclopedia - Ref D 804.25 .H66 2001
Provides in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals. The book also has more than 250 photographs and 19 maps.
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work - Ref PN56.H55 H66 2003 v.1-2
Bio-critical essays on over 300 memoirists, poets, novelists, dramatists, and influential religious and secular philosophers and theorists. Includes bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. Also includes appendices of literary themes, ghettos noted in the literature, labor, transit, and extermination camps noted in the literature, and historic events and figures in the literature.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 - Ref D805.A2 U55 2009
Describes camps and ghettos operated by the Nazis and their allies. Each entry provides basic information about the site's purpose, working and living conditions, and key events. Includes material from personal testimonies and bibliographic references.
Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust - Ref D805.A2 Y33 2009 v.1-2
Over 1,000 entries on the ghettos established in Europe during the period of the Holocaust. Includes a number of maps of communities and ghettos, many prepared by survivors. Includes DVD of film documentation.