Skip to main content

REL 240: Prophets: Articles

Searching Specific Recommended Journals

Professor Couey has recommended you find articles from the following journals:   

  • Catholic Biblical Quarterly
  • Currents in Research: Biblical Studies
  • Interpretation
  • Journal for the Study of the Old Testament
  • Journal of Biblical Literature
  • Vetus Testamentum

To do so, enter the title of the journal into the Journals List box bellow. This will tell you if we have access to the article in print or through another database.  If we have access in print, you can find the journal on the lower level of the library; journals are arranged alphabetically by title.  If we have access electronically, click the link, which will take you into database.  From here, you can search within specific journals.  You can also go to the journal's website to browse the table of contents of recent issues.

Journals List

When you have an article with references, you can see if a particular reference is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Shall I Search the Web?

The Web is great for some topics, but not for others. With respect to biblical studies, you will find the Web is full of information on the Bible. Nevertheless, the vast majority of materials are focused on devotion rather than scholarship. Those that are more scholarly, tend to be significantly dated. In fact, the Web IS NOT A GOOD SOURCE FOR BIBLICAL SCHOLARSHIP. This is why your professor does not allow Web sources for your exegetical paper.

Remember, however, that  in addition to its print resources, libraries often pay for resources that are accessed through the web, but these are not indexed in search engines such as Google and Bing. (For biblical scholarship, even Google Scholar often is rarely helpful.) Our library has over 100 of these dateabases, some of which are subject specific and others cover a range of subjects. See the box below for databases that will be paritcularly helpful for your exegecital paper. 

Recommended Article Databases

The library has many databases that can help you find articles relevant for almost any topic. Databases for articles and other materials offer references to publications that may or may not be in this library; some databases offer full text of articles and others simply citations or there may be a mix. There are in-depth databases that cover publications in a particular field and others that cover numerous subjects. The resources below should be helpful in your biblical research. 

Ask Us!

Librarians are here to help!

  • Visit or call the reference desk: A librarian is generally at the desk or "on call" Monday-Thursday 10:30-4:30 and Friday 10:30-2:30 (Fall & Spring) (507-933-7567)
  • E-mail a librarian: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name and the best way to contact you)
  • Schedule a consultation: online request form
  • More information: Visit the Ask Us! page
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License