Ref DC147 .P38 1988 This easy-to-use and comprehensive reference contains short entries on well over 1000 persons, places, events, institutions, etc., relating to the French Revolution and the early Napoleonic period.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History - Ref DT 29 .E53 2003
This resource includes full indexes and a thematic entry list, together with ample cross-referencing and suggestions for further reading.
French culture, 1900-1975
Ref DC33.7 .F726 1995 449 pages
Historical dictionary of Algeria
Ref DT283.7 .N39 2006 Hundreds of alphabetically arranged, cross-referenced entries describe important people, places, issues, and events in the history of Algeria. Coverage spans every era, from the earliest human settlements through French colonization, the War of Liberation, and on to the present day.
Historical dictionary of France from the 1815 restoration to the Second Empire
Ref DC256 .H57 1987 Contains more than 900 articles written by 75 scholars from countries throughout the world dealing with major people, places, and events in France from 1815 to 1852.
Historical dictionary of Morocco
Ref DT313.7 .P37 2006 offers some 300 alphabetical entries on significant people, places, events, movements, and organizations in the history of Morocco, with a brief historical overview, 30 maps, a chronology, cross references, an appendix of ruling dynasties and governments, and an extensive bibliography of works in English and other languages.
Historical dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991
Ref DC401 .H57 1992 This unique guide to the French Fourth and Fifth Republics is a comprehensive reference work that includes over 250 entries on a variety of topics--ranging from politics and economics to foreign and defense policy to social and cultural history.
Historical dictionary of the Third French Republic, 1870-1940
Ref DC337 .H57 1986 The 153 contributors, largely American, have provided readable entries of varying length covering all aspects of French civilization during this time. 1222 pages
Historical dictionary of World War II France : the Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946
Ref DC397 .H58 1998 The most comprehensive reference work in its field, this book covers a broad range of topics—military, political, economic, social, painting, literature, music, cinema, dance, theater, sports, and daily life—related to France and her empire during World War II.