HIS 218: Scandinavia to 1800: Reference Works

Try these official sites (in English) for social, economic, and demographic statistics.  You'll find primarily modern data, but content might be useful depending on how you are writing about a pre-1800 topic.

• Statistics Denmark
• Statistics Finland
• Statistics Iceland
• Statistics Norway
• Statistics Sweden

• Dictionary of Scandinavian History - Ref DL43 .D53 1985
  ​Includes over 400 entries dealing with the history of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden since 1000 A.D.
   
• Dictionary of Scandinavian Literature - Ref PT 7063 .D5 1990
  Contains articles about major writers and topics. Each entry concludes with bibliographies, including lists of each author's works, translations, and critical sources.
   
• Finnish Features - Ref DL 1122 .F566
  Well illustrated and constantly updated fact sheets produced by the Finnish information service. Excellent for current, concise information.
   
• National Atlas of Sweden - Ref G 2070 .N3
  Describes geography, population, environment, industry, and culture.
   
• Saami: A Cultural Encyclopedia - Ref DL 1020 .L35 2005
  A handbook with brief articles on all aspects of the indigenous Saami (sometimes spelled Sami) culture of northern Scandinavia and the Kola peninsula
   
• Historical Dictionaries
  These handbooks offer brief identification of people, events, places, and institutions as well as chronologies.

-- Historical Dictionary of Denmark (Ref DL105 .T46 1998)
-- Historical Dictionary of Finland (Ref DL1007 .M38 1995) 
-- Historical Dictionary of Iceland (Ref DL338 .G82 1997) 
-- Historical Dictionary of Norway (Ref DL443 .S63 2008)
-- Historical Dictionary of Sweden (Ref DL643 .S37 1995)