LibGuides: FRE 344: Popular Rebellions: Finding Material for Your Project

Browsing for Books

Your research will take you to various parts of the library. Here are some places you might visit. All of these call numbers are shelved on the upper level. Some books (art books, in particular) may be in the Oversized Collection.

DC - History of France
DC251-354.9 - 19th Century
DC270-274.5 - Revolution of 1848
DC361-424 - 20th Century
DC411-424 - Fifth Republic, 1958 -
DC425-433 - 21st Century
DC701-790 - Local history, Paris

DS - History of Asia
DS556-559.93 - Vietnam

DT - History of Africa
DT181-346 - The Maghreb
    DT521-555.9 - French Sahara
    DT521-555.9 - Francophone West Africa

HN - Social History and Conditions

M - Music

N - Art

PN - Literature, General
PN1993-1999 - Film

PQ 1-3999 - French Literature
    PQ2149-2551 - 19th century
    PQ2600-2651 - 1900-1960
    PQ2660-2686 - 1961-2000
    PQ2700-2726 - 2001
    PQ3800-3999 - Post-Colonial Literature in French

Finding Historical Context

Horace Vernet - The French revolution of 1848 via Wikimedia

Wikipédia (French-language version)
The famous crowd-sourced encyclopedia. You might find it interesting to compare a French article with one in English and to click on the Discussion (or Talk) page to see how coverage is being debated.

WorldCat Discovery Basic Search This link opens in a new window
Our library catalog. Look on the left side for ways to limit a search by format, language, publication date, etc. The default searches books and films at Gustavus, but it's easy to switch to "libraries worldwide" and request items from other libraries.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A general-purpose database for popular and scholarly articles on any subject, mostly focused on English-language publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of scholarly journals. A lot of old articles are included but the most recent 3-5 years is often missing due to publisher restrictions.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.

Finding Cultural Texts

This task will require more creativity and inventiveness than simply learning about your historical moment. In addition to searching the catalog for artists, filmmakers, poets, and other cultural figures or movements you have identified (and browsing in those sections - you might find something by flipping through a book of poetry or artwork), you might find these resources helpful.

Google Books This link opens in a new window

If you come across additional websites with good cultural materials relevant to this course, let me know and I'll add to this list!

On Reserve

Ask for this book at the information desk. You can use it in the library or scan pages you want to keep.

A New History of French Literature by Denis Hollier (Editor)
Call Number: Reserves PQ119 .N48 1989
ISBN: 0674615654
Publication Date: 1989-09-09
Organized chronologically, this book may help you find key figures and ideas tied to your rebellion. The bibliographies look really helpful.

In the Reference Collection

Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Culture by Catharine Savage Brosman (Editor)
Call Number: Reference DC33.7 .F726 1995
ISBN: 0810384825
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Though the articles in this volume are short, you might get ideas about artists, writers, and filmmakers related to a social protest.
Encyclopedia of European Social History
Call Number: Reference HN373 .E63 2001
ISBN: 9780684805825
Publication Date: 2000-12-20
This six-volume set might be useful for big-picture pan-European context, particularly for subjects such as "Gender and popular protest" or "collective action."
Guide to French Literature by A. H. Levi (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PQ41 .L48 1992
ISBN: 1558621598
Publication Date: 1993-11-01
Biographical and critical information about writers.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by Alex Hughes (Editor); Keith Reader (Editor)
Call Number: Reference DC33.7 .E53 1998
ISBN: 0415131863
Publication Date: 1998-06-24
Short articles about French culture post World War II - television, radio, music, influential thinkers, and movements such as May 1968.

Librarian

Dan Mollner

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Film and Media Studies, French, Geology, German, Japanese, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies, Music, Russian and Eastern European Studies, Sociology and Anthropology, Spanish