LibGuides: HIS 141 / GWS 141: Women in the U.S.: Books

Browsing for Books

Books are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. You may want to supplement your use of the catalog book search with browsing shelf areas for your topic.

HQ The family. Marriage. Women

12-449 Sexuality
503-1064 Marriage and the family
1101-2030 Women, Feminism
1121-1154 history
1180 women's studies
1236 women and the state
1381 women and economics
1393 women and religion
1402 - 1870.5 women in regions or countries

Image from the College and Lutheran Church Archives, Digital Collections, College Photographs

Catalog Search Box

Advanced Search · Finding Books in the Library

Finding Books beyond Gustavus

Searching the catalog (above) will lead you to books at Gustavus. It will also connect you with books at many other libraries in Minnesota (select All Libraries to search once you're in the catalog). Explore these links to find books at other libraries & online.

WorldCat
Includes millions of records of resources in 400 languages owned by libraries around the world. Materials date back to the 11th century. Gustavus users may be able to borrow items they find in WorldCat searches via Interlibrary Loan (click the "Find It!" button). The database can also be searched through its free web interface, at worldcat.org. Access to WorldCat is provided by the Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM).
Google Books
Google is in the midst of an ambitious project to digitize books from publishers and in libraries. Those that were published before 1923 are in full text; those still potentially under copyright can be searched, but not viewed in full. It offers an interesting way to locate very specific words, phrases, and citations, particularly in older books. Using the advanced search you can limit a search to books that are full text or published within a range of years.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Primary Source (Book) Materials in the Gustavus Library

To find primary source materials available in the Gustavus library, go to the Advanced Search in the library catalog. In one of the search boxes, enter the word "source" and set the field to "Subject." Then, enter keywords related to your topic in another box. This search will bring back primary source materials that are in edited volumes.

Librarian

Jeff Jenson

Email Me

Contact:

You can find me in the College and Lutheran Church Archives, the offices above the library's main entrance.

Subjects: Archives, Environmental Studies, Geography, Greek, Latin & Classical Studies, Gustavus History, History, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies, Religion, Special Collections and Rare Books