LibGuides: ENG 101: Environmental Humanities: Finding Sources

New to the Library?

If this is one of your first times using the library to conduct college-level research, have no fear! I've pulled together some additional resources that will help you get started & answer any questions you may have. You are more than welcome to email me with any questions that arise or to ask anyone who works in the library for help.

Quick Answers
Fantastic overview of how to use the library & do research, including many common FAQs
Find Books on the Shelf
Gives a great overview of how to read call numbers and locate the items you want
Fact Checking
Tips on how to verify facts and weed out fake news
Library Tutorial
Use this excellent guide for a deep dive into how information is produced, shared, accessed and evaluated, including the important role libraries play in this process

Make Your Searches Smart

There's a lot of published research. When you use a library database look for ways to make your life easier. Set up filters for

date (you don't need interpretations of literature that are shaped by out-of-date ideas)
subject (some databases cover everything - you may want to focus on literature)
audience (in some databases a limit to scholarly or peer-reviewed screens out magazine and newspaper articles)
format (in the catalog, try print book; in other databases try article to focus your search)

Finding Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books about your topic. If you need help locating books on the shelf, consult this guide (or ask anyone who works in the library - we're happy to help!).

Some things to know about the catalog: you can limit by year of publication, to print books, and (if you're greedy) search libraries worldwide and request books from other libraries. It takes a few days, but it's free.

Finding Articles

Use these resources to find articles - both scholarly and non - to find articles related to your topic. Tip: ProQuest US Newsstream will let you access newspaper articles from around the country, including today's papers!

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, and journals. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.