Last Updated: Sep 22, 2013
Visit this page for links to our database trials and newest databases.
Please note that some databases are available from on campus only.
Questions or comments? Contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
- L'Annee Philologique (EBSCO trial)
Annual index of scholarly publications relating to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The library is currently running a trial of a new interface (EBSCO) for this resource.
- Contact Us to Request a Trial
To request a trial, contact e-resources librarian Anna Hulseberg (email@example.com ) or contact your department or program liaison librarian.
Our newest databases include a digital images library, classical scores, a library of international phonetic alphabet transcriptions of opera arias, The Philosopher's Index, and a collection of over 1,500 full text journals from Springer. We also have access to Oxford Islamic Studies Online until February 2014 as part of the Muslim Journeys grant.
ARTstor Digital Library provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, with a suite of software tools for teaching and research. Includes material from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- Classical Scores Library, Volume I and II
Volume I features works from the Renaissance to the 21st century, including full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. Volume II presents a new focus on major composers not represented in Volume I; new contemporary self published scores by living composers around the world; and critical editions of compositions for study.
- IPA Source
Library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Includes over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. The Gustavus library will have access to this resource until February 2014 as part of the Muslim Journeys
- Philosopher's Index
Considered the most thorough index of journal literature in philosophy, the Philosopher’s Index covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. Covers research published since 1940, with additional records dating back to 1902.
- Springer All America's Package
Provides access to over 1,500 titles in full text, from 1997-present.
New resources include primary source documents from the Vietnam era, the American Indian Movement, the LGBT movement, and the movement for the abolition of slavery in the 18th and 19th century. New in September 2013: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984, and Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers.
- America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations--Vietnam Veterans Against the War
This collection consists of FBI reports dealing with various aspects of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations. Covers 1967-1975.
- American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
- Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 Digital Archive
This collection of FBI files provides source materials for major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history and it provides a window into the development of America’s first systematic domestic surveillance programs.
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life Digital Archive
This digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers records the concerns and the day-to-day life of the Japanese-Americans interned during World War II.
- Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, the San Francisco Human Rights Commission, and the National Organization for Women. Covers 1966-1984.
- Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents the work of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB). They also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement. Covers 1955-1984.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery Part 1 : Debates over Slavery and Abolition
Includes collections from the United States and Europe on the worldwide movement for the abolition of slavery in the eighteenth and nineteenth century. Contains 1.5 million cross-searchable pages, including over 7,000 books, 79 serials, 16 manuscript collections and 377 Supreme Court records and briefs.