Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to use this guide
This research guide was designed with your course and research topics in mind. You'll find listings of specific books and databases to use, as well as tips on how to research your topics. You'll also find suggestions for other ways and places to look for information Finally, please contact me if you have any questions - whether it's finding materials or talking about your topic or brainstorming ways to search. Use the contact information underneath my picture to get ahold of me. -Julie
Reference Books about Migration
Reference books are shelved on the main floor of the Library on the Beck Hall side. Use reference books to gain an overall sense of your topic as well as search terms and data. Reference books can't be checked out but you can scan pages and email them to yourself.
Here are some recommended books. Find more by browsing the shelves near the ones listed below and by searching the library catalog.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by
Call Number: REF 184 .A1 G14 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-11
Religion and American Cultures by
Call Number: REF BL 2525 .R448 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States by
Call Number: REF BP 67 .U6 E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Asian Americans by
Call Number: REF E184 .A75 A842648 2014
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
Encyclopedia Latina by
Call Number: REF E184 .S75 E587 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
American Immigrant Cultures
Call Number: REF E184.A1 A63448 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: REF E185 .E54 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Atlas of American Migration by
Call Number: REF G1201.E27 F5 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
The Working Class by
Call Number: REF HD8066 .D47 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Issues in U. S. Immigration by
Call Number: REF JV6450 .I565 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Encyclopedia of American Immigration by
Call Number: REF JV6465 .E53 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Undocumented Immigrants in the United States by
Call Number: REF JV6475 .U48 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Searching for Books
You will want to do a number of searches in the library catalog, since it will get you to all kinds of materials in the library related to your topics. We have lots of material on various immigrant groups and about human migration in general. You can also go to these call number areas to browse materials on immigration (the JVs are all on the third floor):
- JV 6201-6347 Immigration (general)
- JV 6403-7127 United States
- JV 7200-9470 Other countries
You should also try searching in the catalog for materials about specific ethnic groups.
Scholarly, Newspaper and Magazine Articles
Search for articles through our library databases. Read the descriptions for each database to understand what kind of material it contains.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
ProQuest US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
America: History and Life
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Full-text backfiles to over 350 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, and Language & Literature collections. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year. To limit your search to full text articles, make sure that the option to "include links to external content" is turned off.
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary citation index covering the journal literature of the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social work, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. Indexes 2,697 journals across social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Facts and Figures
Census Fast Facts
Fast Facts provides a portrait of the United States both statistically and culturally. In addition to census-related statistics, the innovations, events, and icons of each decade are highlighted. Each page illustrates the thought and culture of the population counted during each decade's census.
Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States: 1850-1990
This working paper presents selected decennial census data on the foreign-born population of the United States from 1850 to 1990. This paper updates and expands data on the foreign-born population published in 1975 in "Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970."
Ellis Island Foundation
Timeline from the Ellis Island Foundation giving a general overview of immigration history.
This guide from Purdue University provides an overview of plagiarism and best practices for avoiding it.
Evaluating Journals and Magazines
Tips on how to recognize reliable sources by evaluating them in terms of relevance, currency, audience, and credibility.
Materials not available at Gustavus may be borrowed from other libraries and sent here for you to use. Location: Library -- Main Floor.
New to the Library?
If doing research in the library and at the college level is relatively new to you, have no fear. You can always ask for help in the library, either at the Reference Desk or, if no one's at the Reference Desk, at the Information Desk. Both are right inside the front entrance of the library.
You might also find this guide useful in answer basic questions about how the library (and research) work.
Julie's Search Tips
- Be creative: brainstorm various ways and places you can search for your topic.
- Be persistent: don't let a dead end or problem stop you.
- Ask if you have any questions or encounter any issues - research is complex and complicated, so don't feel like you've failed if you need to ask for help. Librarians ask each other for research help all the time!
- Give yourself lots of time to conduct your research.
Above all, use the resources available to you. Take initiative. Explore the information sources on this guide, search the library catalog and databases, talk to a librarian, visit the Writing Center, ask your professor for advice, talk about your topic with classmates and friends...the possibilities are endless.
Remember, research is a conversation and YOU are a part of that conversation. For more, here's a great video from the UNLV libraries.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License