Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FRE 399: French Civilization: Start

Overview of Resources

This guide contains a number of resources and tips that will help you conduct research for this course. While I have highlighted major resources, the guide is certainly not comprehensive. Explore recommended databases, search library catalogs, and investigate paths that lead you to information on your topic. You are more than welcome to contact me directly (my contact info is below my picture) and/or chat with any librarian at the Reference Desk. We are here to help with whatever research issue or question you may have.

You may find these other library research guides useful, too, depending on your topic:

This digital library, from the Library of Congress, might also be useful:

Finding Articles

Use these databases to find newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles. Note that not all of these databases will work equally well for each topic; be sure to browse the database descriptions to find the best ones for you. Most databases have options (often in advanced search screens) to limit by language, so use these options to find French language materials.

Finding Books

To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via  the search box on the library's homepage.

When you find books that look useful, write down the Location & the Call Number

General Collection, A - PQ  are on the Third Floor 

General Collection, PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor

Oversize, A - Z are on the Third Floor

Reference, A - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor.

Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. The system is a little tricky to figure out at first, so don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Circulation Desk or Reference Desk.

Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.

You can check books out at the Circulation Desk (front desk).

Books Beyond Gustavus

Here are options for finding books beyond what we have in house. I recommend searching at Gustavus first before expanding your search to other libraries; these are great options to use after you've determined whether or not we have materials useful for your topic here.

Librarian

Julie Gilbert's picture
Julie Gilbert
Contact:
Hello! I'm on sabbatical during the 2020-2021 academic year. If you have a question about research, an assignment, or the library, please contact any of the reference librarians at folke@gustavus.edu or via the Ask Us! button on the library's homepage.
Website
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License