Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 163. Benson, Henry N., Sr. and Henry N. Benson, Jr. Materials concerning duties of the Gustavus Board of Trustees and Related Church Organizations, 1877-1980s: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Benson, Henry N., Sr. and Henry N. Benson, Jr.  Materials concerning duties of the Gustavus Board of Trustees and Related Church Organizations, 1877-1980s.  GACA Collection 163.  1 Records Center Carton and 1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Henry N. Benson, Sr. and Henry N. Benson, Jr. collection contains investment and endowment fund information and correspondence.  Fund information relates to investments made on behalf of Gustavus Adolphus College and funds for Gustavus Adolphus College and others.  Correspondence details specific events, payment collection, and financial information.  The majority of the collection pertains to the Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College.

Biographical Note

Henry Nathaniel Benson, Sr. (1August 1872 - 10 May 1960) graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1893 and from the University of Minnesota Law School in 1895.  He had his own law practice in St. Peter.  Benson served on the Gustavus Adolphus College Board of Trustees from 1902-1944.  He was Treasurer from May 1903 - March 1906 and President from December 1916 - May 1944, after which he elected President emeritus.  He was also Chairman of the Committee for the Augustana Pension Fund and as the founder and first President of the Lutheran Brotherhood of the Augustana Lutheran Church.  He served in the Minnesota State Senate from 1910-1922 and was the state’s Attorney General from 1929-1932.  He was also a Nicollet County Probate Judge and organized and served as President and director of the Nicollet County Historical Society, as well as being President of the Minnesota State Historical Society from 1902-1944.

Henry Nathaniel Benson, Jr. (4 June 1916 - 30 November 1993) graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1937 and attended the University of Minnesota Law School.  After graduation he worked at West Publishing Company in Ohio before serving in the army.  He spent four and a half years in the army, participating in the Tunisian campaign and spending time in Europe.  He returned to St. Peter where he became a partner in his father’s law firm.  He was elected to the Gustavus Adolphus College Board of Trustees in 1951 and served as Secretary until 1957.

*Information taken from collection and Gustavian Weekly

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three sections: funds (arranged alphabetically), correspondence (arranged chronologically), and miscellaneous.

Funds, 1919-1962:  This series contains information pertaining to different funds.  Some investment funds, some pensions funds, and some endowment funds.

Correspondence, 1902-1962:  This series contains mostly correspondence.  It also contains some financial information and some legal documents.

Miscellaneous, 1877-1980s: This series contains miscellaneous materials.  These materials range from publications to Board of Trustees minutes to Gustavus Adolphus College programs and catalogues and other various materials.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License