Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As you work on your Rhapsode project, use the resources on this page to ground and guide your research. While this guide is by no means comprehensive in terms of listing all of the appropriate resources for your work, it highlights major resources in Classical scholarship. Please feel free to contact me (Julie - contact info is below my picture) with any questions.
You will want to consult the Classics Research Guide for more resources.
The field of Classical Studies is a leader in digitizing information & making it freely available. Here's a sample of some online resources that may be especially useful; use the Classics Research Guide Primary Source Materials tab to find additional sites.
Perseus Digital Library
Searchable digital library that includes primary sources, secondary materials, and teaching tools.
From the project's web page: "The Homer Multitext project seeks to present the Homeric Iliad and Odyssey in a critical framework that accounts for the fact that these poems were composed orally over the course of hundreds, if not thousands of years by countless singers who composed in performance."
Voice of the Shuttle: Classical Studies
Resources are sorted by category and type (e.g. language resources, conferences, journals, etc.)
Use these resources to access both scholarly and primary source materials.
NOTE: Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users. If you get an error message, wait to try your search again.
Recommended Reference Works
Reference books provide overviews of topics, give you ideas for search terms, and often give you recommended readings. Reference works are all found on the main level of the library - Beck Hall side. They are meant to be used in house & can't be checked out. You can scan sections, however, using our scanners.
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome - Ref PA 3002 .A5 1982
Covers major writers chronologically from Homer to Ammianus Marcellinus, as well as selected topics such as Greek lyric poets and Hellenistic poetry at Alexandria. Each of the forty-seven essays are written by an expert on the topic. They are detailed and lengthy and are each followed by a long selective bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World - Ref DE 5 .N4813 2002 (Antiquities) Ref DE5 .P33213 2006 (Classical Tradition
An English translation of a new edition of a German-language classic. Covers topics on antiquity with scholarly articles reflecting current research. The companion set covers the classical tradition and how the Greek and Roman world has influenced our understanding in more recent times.
Cambridge Ancient History - Ref D 57 .C252
This authoritative history covers the ancient world chronologically.
Gods and Mortals in Classical Mythology - Ref BL 715 .G67 1973
Identifies people and gods, providing references to the myths and literature in which they are mentioned. There are a number of fine illustrations, many of them reproductions of later western art that employs classical iconography.
Greek-English Lexicon - Ref PA 445 .E5 L6
This standard Greek dictionary was first published in 1843 and has gone through numerous revisions. It not only gives definitions but cites texts in which the words were used.
Greek Literature - Ref PA 3054 .G74 2001
A compendium of writings by philological scholars on ancient Greek literature from the oral tradition and Homer to Greek literature during the Roman and Byzantine periods.
Homer Encyclopedia - Ref PA4037.A5 H58 2011
A comprehensive reference work encompassing the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature - Ref PA 31 .H69 1989
A handy guide to writers and works from the Classical times, giving concise discussions on the social and cultural context of the literature.
Spring 2021 reference (research) help:
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License