Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PSY 344: Psychology of Language
This guide includes resources on language development topics for your integrated lesson plan and parent pamphlet. It's just a starting point, so don't hesitate to ask a librarian for further assistance!
Child development information for parents:
Information for parent educators:
One of the most powerful ways to locate useful information is to find one solid source and then follow the scholarly conversation by tracking down the books and articles it cites. You can also trace citations forward in time by searching for a source and using citation tools such as:
- "Times Cited in this Database" link in PsycINFO
- "Cited by..." link in Google Scholar
Psychological Science & General
Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields, going back to 1840. Covers all areas of psychology, including experimental, developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, and behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Also includes citations for books and chapters.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Annual Review of Psychology
Offers review articles on topics in the field. These sort out the published research on a topic, discuss it, and provide references. A good overview of what's going on in the field for the topics covered.
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Education - You can search all three databases together in EBSCO
Major index to literature in education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it provides full citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, curricula, government documents, dissertations, and research reports. ERIC citations date from 1966 to the present, and full text is available for many research reports.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Also contains more than 200 educational reports. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals and books to assist professional educators. Coverage includes assessment, curriculum development, literacy standards, and more.
Handbook of Child Psychology - Ref BF 721 .H242 2006
A comprehensive source that presents the current state of developmental psychology and also provides ideas and information about the future of this field. Author and subject indexes are included.
Handbook of Psychology - Ref BF121 .H213 2013, 12 vols.
Offers in-depth coverage of current knowledge in the field. Each volume tackles a part of the discipline, including history, research methods, biological psychology, personality and social psychology, developmental, forensic, and clinical psychology. Intended for specialists, these volumes summarize the current accepted knowledge in the field.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License