Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books from the Reference collection are a good place to start your research. These works give readers a broad topical overview.
Image from the College and Lutheran Church Archives, Digital Collections, College Photographs
Minnesota Immigrant Oral Histories
Over 300 interviews conducted with immigrants between 1967 and 2012, including streaming audio and transcripts of interviews with Khmer, Latino, Hmong, Chinese, Filipino, Somali, and Vietnamese-heritage Minnesotans.
Reference Books on American Cultures
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation - Ref E184.A1 A63448 1997
Covers culture groups from Acadians to Zoroastrians, covering each group's defining features, patterns of cultural variation, immigration history, demographics, cultural characteristics, and relevant published literature.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration - Ref JV 6465 .E53 2010
Covers historical and contemporary issues in immigration policy, provides coverage of social and cultural issues and background on specific immigrant groups. The final section reproduces key legal documents from the US Constitution to late twentieth-century immigration legislation and executive orders.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements - Ref HN 57 .E594 2004
Organized by topic rather than alphabetically, this set covers the antislavery movement, civil rights, the women's movement, labor, Native American, religious and Utopian, antiwar and student movements, LGBT, environmental, and global justice movements, each with in-depth chronological coverage and analysis.
Encyclopedia of American Studies - Ref E 169.1 .E625 2001 (4 vols.)
Published under the auspices of the American Studies Association, this est covers concepts key to the interdisciplinary field, issues related to class, race and ethnicity, cultural institutions, popular culture, social history and more.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism - Ref E 184 .A1 E584 2008
This three-volume set covers many issues related to race and racism from multidisciplinary perspectives, providing essays on topics such as racial formation, multiculturalism, internalized racism, groups of people, organizations, key legislation and court cases, and topics such as families, body politics, and sexism.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - Ref E 184 .A1 G14 2014
Offers over 150 substantial essays on ethnic groups in the U. S., covering origins, circumstances of arrival, family, community, culture, economy, politics, and significant contributions. Each essay ends with a bibliography and contacts for further research.
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America - Ref E49.R33 2000
Arranged like an encyclopedia, this three-volume set includes entries about theories and terms concerning racial relations, ethnic groups, historical events, current events, current and historical legislation, ethnic participation in the arts, and ethnic organizations.
They Chose Minnesota - Ref F 615 .A1 T45
Though now quite dated (as it was published in 1981) this handy volume still provides useful historical background information about immigrants who settled in the state of Minnesota.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License