Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nobel Conference - Cancer in the Age of Biotechnology: Articles

Evaluating Journals and Magazines

http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/guides/spmaterials/

Learn how to distinguish between scholarly, popular, and trade articles.  From the North Carolina University Libraries.

Deciphering Scientific Research

Cancer.net does a nice job of summarizing how cancer research gets published and how to understand and interpret the results from research studies.  In addition, they offer a list of questions to ask when evaluating medical new stories.

You might also consider using a non-partisan fact-checking site, such as SciCheck, which "focuses exclusively on false and misleading scientific claims that are made by partisans to influence public policy."

If you are a community member or alumni...

The UC-Santa Barbara Library has compiled a great list of free publicly accessible databases:

https://www.library.ucsb.edu/search-research/free-databases

For a research topic related to cancer, the following databases would be most helpful:

If you're a current student, faculty member, or staff member..

Library Databases:
Many full text e-journals are available in our library databases.
For databases in your subject area, visit the Library's Research Guides and Articles & Databases menus.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License