Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Reference Collection: What is it good for?
The reference collection on the main floor of Gustavus Library is a great first stop on your journey towards learning about any topic related to France in World War II. Reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies can offer a brief overview of a wide variety of topics you may be interested in researching, quickly bringing you up-to-speed on the history of research (or historiography) of your chosen topic, pointing the way to other important primary and secondary sources, and allowing you engage in the broader scholarly conversation about that topic.
Unlike books in the general collection, books in the reference collection don't circulate and can't be checked out -- that way they're always ready at hand for anyone in the library who wants to use them!
Are you researching a person who is ... really famous? British? American? German? American? From Africa? An African American? A woman? An author? There's a good chance you may find an encyclopedia entry on them in one of these sources.
Women in World History : a biographical encyclopedia by
Call Number: Reference HQ1115 .W6 1999 v.1-v.17
Publication Date: 1999-10-08
"With more than 10,000 biographical entries, this is the most comprehensive women's history encyclopedia available. This ambitious work profiles women throughout time and throughout the world. More than 2,500 signed articles written by academics, up to 5,000 words in length, highlight a particular woman's personal background and significance in history. Shorter entries spotlight historically important women who are less frequently researched or for whom less information is available. [...] This encyclopedia features women from all walks of life, including: rulers, royalty, lawyers, politicians, soldiers, heroines, pacifists, resistance fighters, financiers, entrepreneurs, philanthropists, investors, authors and more. Coverage includes many women for whom profiles are not included in traditional sources."
Dictionary of World Biography : 20th Century by
Publication Date: 1998; 2019
"Concise biographical information on outstanding people from the ancient world to current times, providing a look at their early life, life's work, and summary of achievements." - Publisher description
Encyclopedia Judaica by
Call Number: REF DS102.8 .E496 2007 (Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
"Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures." - Publisher description
The Spanish in the Americas
Encyclopedia of Exploration to 1800 by
Call Number: Reference G80 .H68 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Publisher summary: "The Encyclopedia of Exploration provides a comprehensive guide to the history and literature of world exploration, travel and colonization. The vast scope of the Encyclopedia of Exploration makes it a work unlike any other in its combination of historical, biographical and bibliographical data. It includes a catalogue of all known expeditions, voyages and travels to the year 1800, as well as biographical information on the travellers themselves, which places them in their historical context. The book includes 2327 major articles with generated index entries totalling more than 7500 names of persons or ships mentioned in the text. Within the text itself there are about 4000 cross-references between articles. Altogether nearly 20,000 bibliographical citations accompany the articles."
Librarian's note: Numerous articles about Spanish explorers and conquistadors, with extensive bibliographies.
Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975 by
Call Number: Reference DP56 .H57 1992
Publication Date: 1991-11-30
Publisher description: "The Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire looks at the process by which Spain extended its influence across the globe. It provides more than 1,200 brief descriptive essays covering colonies, individuals, political institutions, legislation, treaties, conferences, wars, revolutions, technologies, social and religious groups, and military battles. References at the end of each entry provide sources of additional information for those wishing to pursue the subject further."
The Cambridge History of Latin America, v. 1-2: Colonial Latin America by
Call Number: F1410 .C1834 1984 v.1-2
Publication Date: 1984-12-06
Publisher description: "This is an authoritative large-scale history of the whole of Latin America, from the first contacts between native American peoples and Europeans in the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries to the present day."
See the reference guide for HIS 334: History of Mexico and Cuba for even more reference sources for the Spanish in the Americas.
The Age of Revolution : Europe 1789-1848
The Industrial Revolution
A Cultural History of Work in the Age of Empire by
Call Number: HD4841 .C85 2020 v.5
Publication Date: 2020-09-17
Publisher description: "The period 1800–1920 was one in which work processes were dramatically transformed by mechanization, factory system, the abolition of the guilds, the integration of national markets and expansion into overseas colonies. While some continued to work in trades that were similar to those of their parents and grandparents, increasing numbers of workers found their workplace and work processes changed, often in ways that were beyond their control. Workers employed a variety of means to protest these changes, from machine-breaking to strikes to migration. This period saw the rise of the labor union and the working-class political party. It was also a time during which ideas about work changed dramatically. Work came to be seen as a source of pride, progress and even liberation, and workers garnered increased interest from writers and artists. This volume explores the multi-faceted experience of workers during the Age of Empire. A Cultural History of Work in the Age of Empire presents an overview of the period with essays on economies, representations of work, workplaces, work cultures, technology, mobility, society, politics and leisure."
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics
Call Number: Q175.35 .E53 2005 v.2
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
Librarian's note: See vol. 2, pp. 993-999, "Industrial Revolution" by Robert Martello, with bibliography.
The condition of the working class in England by
Call Number: HD8389 .E52
Publication Date: 1845; 1958
Librarian's note: Famous book written by Friedrich Engels in 1845 describing the effects of industrialization on the working class in England.
The Making of the English Working Class by
Call Number: HD8388 .T46
Publication Date: 1966-02-12
Publisher's description: "This account of artisan and working-class society in its formative years, 1780 to 1832, adds an important dimension to our understanding of the nineteenth century. E.P. Thompson shows how the working class took part in its own making and re-creates the whole life experience of people who suffered loss of status and freedom, who underwent degradation and who yet created a culture and political consciousness of great vitality."
Librarian's note: Influential account of the English working class during the Industrial Revolution.
Empire of Guns : the violent making of the industrial revolution by
Call Number: HD9744.F553 S28 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Publisher description: "We have long understood the Industrial Revolution as a triumphant story of innovation and technology. Empire of Guns, a rich and ambitious new book by award-winning historian Priya Satia, upends this conventional wisdom by placing war and Britain's prosperous gun trade at the heart of the Industrial Revolution and the state's imperial expansion. Satia brings to life this bustling industrial society with the story of a scandal: Samuel Galton of Birmingham, one of Britain's most prominent gunmakers, has been condemned by his fellow Quakers, who argue that his profession violates the society's pacifist principles. In his fervent self-defense, Galton argues that the state's heavy reliance on industry for all of its war needs means that every member of the British industrial economy is implicated in Britain's near-constant state of war."
Dictionary of African Biography by
Call Number: Reference CT1920 .D52 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
Publisher's description: "From the pharaohs to Frantz Fanon, Dictionary of African Biography provides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa’s history. Unprecedented in scale, DAB covers the whole continent from Tunisia to South Africa, from Sierra Leone to Somalia. It also encompasses the full scope of history from Queen Hatsheput of Egypt (1490–1468 BCE) and Hannibal, the military commander and strategist of Carthage (243–183 BCE), to Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana (1909–1972), Miriam Makeba, and Nelson Mandela of South Africa (b. 1918). Subjects are drawn from all walks of life, including philosophers, politicians, activists, entertainers, scholars, poets, scientists, religious figures, kings, and everyday people."
Colonialism : an international, social, cultural, and political encyclopedia by
Call Number: Reference JV22 .C65 2003 v.1-3
Publication Date: 2003-09-16
Publisher description: "A comprehensive reference on colonialism focuses on the politics, economy, culture, and society of both colonizers and colonized, and features nearly 600 entries from an international team of academic experts, along with extensive chronologies of 15 modern empires."
See also, shelved in the same location in Reference, the Historical Dictionary series for a variety of African countries.
The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by
Call Number: Reference DS557.7 .E53 2011 v.1-4
Publication Date: 2011-05-20
Publisher's description: "Contains over 1,000 entries discussing political, social, and military aspects of the Vietnam War. Includes maps, black-and-white photographs, a broad overview of the war, a chronology, a glossary, and primary source documents."
Historical Dictionary of the War in Vietnam by
Call Number: Reference DS557.7 .F735 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-10
Publisher's description: "This book emphasizes the international nature of the war in Vietnam, as well as provides a greater understanding of the long scope of the conflict. The major events associated with the war serve as the foundation, while additional entries explore the military, diplomatic, political, social, and cultural events that made the war unique. While military subjects are fully explored, there is greater attention to other aspects of the war. All of this is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries. By examining a few of these turning points, an organizational framework takes shape that makes understanding the war more possible."
World War II and the Holocaust
The Encyclopedia of World War II by
Call Number: Reference D740 .E516 2005 v.1-5
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
"Covers every important battle and weapons system; every involved nation and significant geographic location; and every political, military, and civilian leader around the world who played a significant role in the war's onset, course, and aftermath." - Publisher description
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License