Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals List: Do We Have This Journal?
When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
Materials not available at Gustavus may be borrowed from other libraries and sent here for you to use. Location: Library -- Main Floor.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's index to scholarly literature in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the health care system, from 1994-present. MEDLINE links to the ProQuest interface; this database can also be searched through the NLM's free PubMed web interface.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) (New PubMed) This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's index to scholarly literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. This version provides citations from the last five years plus the current year.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Besides indexing a wide range of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and history, this resource allows you to search for articles that cite a specific author or published work. Coverage from 1997 to the present. Click on the "Web of Science" tab to limit your search to one or more specific citation databases.
Primary Research: Biology
Primary research describes articles, or other publications, written by scientists reporting new research including lab and fieldwork. Authors of these articles and publications typically contextualize their new research with a literature review before they report their own results and conclusions. Journals in biology also publish review articles that provide a roundup of recent research on a topic in biology. If you are looking for primary articles or review articles in biology and biomedical topics, the databases in this guide will be especially useful.
, Art and Art History
, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by
Call Number: Ref QH304 .M36 2012 (at reference desk)
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License