Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
The Women's Movement Today by
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Recommended Reference Works
The titles listed below give you a sense of some of the key reference works available for GWS. We have many other reference sources that deal with all aspects of GWS topics; they are far too numerous to list. Any of our librarians would be happy to help you find additional information. You can also do an advanced search in the library's catalog and limit the collection to reference. All books are found on the main floor, Beck Hall side of the building.
Dictionary of Feminist Theory - Ref HQ 1115 .H86 1995
Covers theoretical issues in feminism and is particularly useful for putting them in historical context. Helpful for pinpointing primary documents relating to feminist theory.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America - Ref HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004
Offers in depth articles on over 500 topics related to GLBT history, including events, communities, individuals, professions, legal issues, and topics such as "coming out," "closet," and "gay liberation."
Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia - Ref HQ 1090.3 .M436 2004
Covers a wide range of approaches to the subject, with articles on individuals, pivotal events and movements, social processes, and the representation of gender in canonical and popular culture.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Ref HQ16 .E52 2007
Broad theoretical essays address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation - all through the lens of gender.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge - Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000
This resource includes articles on topics related to the arts, literature, culture, economy, education, health, history of feminism, politics, religion, science, etc. Articles provide overviews of topics and include information from world viewpoints and on world conditions whenever possible.
Women in World History - Ref HQ1115 .W6 1999 (17 vols.)
A biographical encyclopedia offering entries on 10,000 women from around the world. Includes indexes by era, geography, occupation, and name.
Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism - Ref HQ 1115 .W644 2006
This two-volume series provides an excellent introduction to Third Wave Feminism, including definitions of terms, biographical sketches, recommendations for further reading. Volume 2 contains a wide selection of primary documents.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License