Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Midwest
The American Midwest by
Call Number: Ref F 351 .A534 2007
Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Focus on American Regions
American Midwest: An Interpretive Encyclopedia - Ref F 351 .A534 2007
A single-volume work consisting of essays organized by broad topic, including landscapes and people, society and culture, community and social life, economy and technology, and public life.
Encyclopedia of the Great Plains - Ref F 591 .E4856 2004
A thematic introduction to the people and the culture of the plains, organized by topics such as African Americans, architecture, film, images and icons, Native Americans, politics and government, protest and dissent, and water.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures - Ref E 179.5 .G744 2004
Covers eight regions, offering insight into their culture and aspects of popular culture, religion, food, folklore, and language.
New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture - Ref F 209 .N47 2006
This 12-volume set covers all aspects of the cultures of the southern United States, including volumes on religion, language, foodways, environment, literature, music, law and politics, and more.
New Encyclopedia of the American West - Ref F 591 .N46 1998
Covers the American frontier and the West from pre-colonial times - encompassing "the West" in the American imagination, not just the geographic area west of the Mississippi. Alphabetically organized, with articles on people, events, places, concepts, and topics.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License