Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre by
Call Number: Ref PN2221 .C37 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Between 1900 and 1985 - Ref PN 1655 .O88 2011
An index for locating plays published in collections, anthologies, and the Best Plays series.
Play Index - Ref PN 1655 .P63
An author, title, and subject index to plays published in collections. Each play listing includes a description, number of acts and scenes, size of cast and number of sets, as well as indication of which are children's plays.
Brewer's Theatre: A Phrase and Fable Dictionary - Ref PN 2035 .B74 1994b
A dictionary of the theatre, including people, plays, theatres, terminology of the craft, and otherwise hard-to-identify topics. The style of the entries is lively and informative, and there are helpful cross references.
Cambridge Guide to American Theatre - Ref PN2221 .C37 2007
Cambridge Guide to Theatre - Ref PN 2035 .C27 1995
Covers playwrights, theatres, and plays, and is notable for lengthy and detailed surveys of theatre by country and region.
Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama - Ref PN1861 .C65 2007
Dramatic Criticism Index: A Bibliography of Commentaries on Playwrights from Ibsen to the Avant-garde - REF PN 1707 .B74 1972
Lists criticism of plays arranged by author, with subheadings for individual plays. Sources vary from scholarly analysis to substantial reviews.
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre - Ref PN2860 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre - Ref ML 102 .M88 G3 2001
Brief articles on people, productions, composers, etc.
Modern Drama: Scholarship and Criticism: An International Bibliography - Ref PN 1851 .C37
A thorough bibliography of critical articles and commentary on world theatre. For updates beyond 1990, consult the June issues of the journal Modern Drama, which include an annual listing of drama scholarship.
Oxford Companion to American Theatre - Ref PN2220.B6 2004
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre - Ref PN 1861 .W67 1994 (6 vols.)
An authoritative guide to theater, with a global perspective.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License