Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Decades - Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994 (10 vols.)
Presents social and cultural history in ten-year periods, covering the arts, business, fashion, law, medicine, religion, and more.
The library has many encyclopedias that can provide context for characters and settings. For lists of encyclopedias on different topics, go to the library's website, then click on "Research Guides" and pick a topic. Here are examples of just a couple books that might be helpful:
Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures - Ref E 179.5 .G744 2004
Covers eight regions, offering insight into their culture and aspects of popular culture, religion, food, folklore, and language.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life - Ref GN 333 .W67 2009
Offers lengthy articles on over 500 culture groups worldwide. Each article surveys the location and homeland of the people and covers a wealth of information on such topics as their language, folklore, religion, rites of passage, interpersonal relations, living conditions, family life, cultural heritage, work, and social issues. Each entry includes a selective bibliography.
Search for Articles
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License