Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Works for Political Theory
Oxford Handbook of Political Theory - Ref. JA 71 .O95 2008
Contains detailed information on a variety of contemporary and historical topics related to political theory; chapters also include lengthy bibliographies.
Social Science Encyclopedia - Ref H 41 .S63 2004
Covers controversies and common assumptions in the fields of social science, including anthropology, psychology, economics, sociology, political theory, and gender studies. Contributors are drawn from many disciplines and represent perspectives from the US, the UK and beyond.
Reference Works in International Relations
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations - Ref E 183.7 .E53 1997
Published under the auspices of the Council on Foreign Relations, this work includes over 1,000 articles covering historical events, relations with countries, biographical sketches of leaders associated with foreign policy, treaties, doctrines, and key concepts. Includes chronology and comparative country data.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations - Ref JZ 1160 .N65 2002
Offers brief articles on countries, regions, events, crises, diplomacy, international political economy, international organizations, and concepts of international law.
Political Handbook of the World - Ref JF 37 .P76
Covers countries of the world, giving basic background information, discussion of political parties and structures, and analysis of current trends.
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures - Ref JF 511 .W67 1998
Covers parliamentary forms of government in over 190 countries in lengthy profiles that cover the nations' history, structure and procedure of parliamentary governance, relationship to the executive branch, parliamentary ethics and culture, and relevant constitutional issues.
Using Reference Works
Reference books are excellent tools, especially when you are beginning a research project. They give broad overviews, orienting you to the larger context in which your topic occurs. They can provide definitions and give you ideas for search words. They might also clue you in to the major thinkers in your area. Sometimes they provide resources for further reading, giving you an instant source list. Reference books are on the main floor of the library facing Beck Hall.
Reference Works in American Politics
Almanac of American Politics - Ref JK 1012 .A44
Summarizes the state of politics at both national and state levels, giving vote results on key issues and state-by-state analysis of important issues. Updated biennially.
America Votes - Ref JK 1967 .A8
Summarizes state and national election returns. Useful for historical as well as recent information.
CQ's Politics in America - Ref JK 1010 .P64
Gives biographical sketches and political analysis of legislators, discussion of regional and state politics, and thumbnail sketches of legislative districts. Updated biennially
CQ Researcher Online
Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, with coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an introductory overview, a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress - Ref JK 1021 .C565 2000
Gives detailed histories and discussions of Congressional processes and issues. There are similar guides put out by the same publisher covering the presidency (Ref JK 516 .G83 2008), the Supreme Court (Ref KF 8742 .W567 2004), and US elections (Ref JK1967 .G85 2005).
United States Government Manual - Ready Ref JK421 .A3
Outlines the organization of federal government agencies, providing organizational charts, contact names and addresses, and descriptions of the missions of the many agencies of the government. Also located in ready reference.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License