Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Article Databases
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Full-text backfiles to over 350 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, and Language & Literature collections. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year. To limit your search to full text articles, make sure that the option to "include links to external content" is turned off.
Project Muse Basic College Collection
Project MUSE provides full text electronic access to over 100 scholarly journals in humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. Topics covered include literary theory; classics; history and cultural studies; philosophy; film, theatre and the performing arts; political science and mathematics.
When you have an article with references, you can see if a particular reference is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
Primary Source News Articles
Life emphasizes photojournalism and consists predominately of black and white and color photographs with accompanying captions. Print issues (photos and all!) are available on the library's lower level, 1936-1972 and 1978-2000. The magazine is indexed in Academic Search Premier (1984-2000) with HTML full text for 1996-2000.
New York Times Historical
The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
Newsweek is available in print on the library's lower level, 1937-2012. It is also available online in Academic Search Premier, 1990-present. Use the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (Ref AI3 .R28) for a subject index to older issues of Newsweek and other magazines. For a subject search of more recent issues (1984-present), use Academic Search Premier.
Time magazine is available online in Academic Search Premier (1923-present) and in print on the library's lower level, 1928-present.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License