Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First Freshman Class, Gustavus Adolphus College
Courtesy of the College Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College
In addition to these online sources for images, you may want to scan images from historical popular magazines in our print collection, such as Life, Newsweek, and Time. See the "Articles" tab in this guide for more information on print magazines.
A database containing full text documents, spoken word and sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music as a digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
ARTstor Digital Library is a subscription database providing over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, with a suite of software tools for teaching and research. Includes material from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Search the content of encyclopedias, a dictionary and thesaurus, a multimedia database with images, videos, and sound files, the Web's Best Sites, selected magazines and journals, country statistics from World Data Analyst, notable quotations, and Gateway to the Classics (a collection of works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science). Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Digital Collections, College and Lutheran Church Archives, Gustavus Adolphus College
Digitized materials include college photographs, manuscripts, World War I posters, Lutheran church images, and more. Digitized materials represent a small sample of the entire collection.
Digital Public Library of America
A portal that provides free access to sources from America's libraries, archives, and museums. According to its website, it "strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
Flickr - The Commons
Provides access to images from public photography archives from around the world.
Flickr Creative Commons
Many Flickr users offer their work under Creative Commons licenses. Visit the website for details on how you can use images offered under the different types of Creative Commons licenses.
Search the web for image content.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Contains catalog records and digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Library of Congress. Includes more than 1.2 million digitized images; in some cases only thumbnail images will display to those searching outside the Library of Congress due to rights considerations.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. It covers subject areas of general interest and contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an image collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.. Note: To limit your search to primary source documents, select "Primary Source Document" in the "Publication Type" box. Access provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Minnesota Digital Library: Minnesota Reflections
A searchable collection of images and primary sources from libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums across Minnesota.
Free high resolution digital stock photography for either corporate or public use. Use this site to find free image reference material for use in all creative pursuits.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License