Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Public Opinion Data
Public opinion data can be a rich source of information for understanding how people feel about a range of issues. Use older data to get a snapshot of public opinion on a variety of historical events. Public opinion data are collected by various organizations; the following lists several highly recommended sites, but the list isn't comprehensive.
ABC News Polling Unit
Public opinion polls provided to ABC News by Langer Research Associates. Wide variety of polls including politics, entertainment, health, business, and technology among others.
American Religion Data Archive
Mostly using public opinion polls, this site provides demographic and attitudinal information about American's religious beliefs.
Associated Press/IPSOS Poll
Annotated list of polls with a focus on the economy and politics; includes US, Canada, and international polls.
CISER Data Archive
From Cornell University, annotated list of available polls.
Fox News Poll
Polls from Fox News as well as links to CNN, Gallup, and other polls.
Gallup Poll - Ref HN 90 .P8 G35
An annual compilation of opinion poll statistics gathered by the Gallup Organization, covering from 1935 to the present. Indexes make it easy to find figures from different years. This organization also maintains a website which contains selected data at Gallup.com
From a polling company, a wide variety of topics can be searched from the 1960s to present, with summary data presented in brief press release format.
LAPOP-Latin American Public Opinion Project
Results from most Latin American countries as well as Madagascar, Israel, and Albania.
Mansfield Asian Opinion Poll Database
Polls from major media organizations in Japan and South Korea.
New York Times Poll Watch
An excellent, reliable source for polls and public opinion data.
Pew Research Center
Gateway to variety of studies supported by Pew Research.
Public Opinion Polls - Research Guide
Guide from University of Pennsylvania Library.
Roper Center's poll
Collection of polling data from many outlets - subscription required for some content.
Survey Research Center
From the University of Michigan.
Washington Post Polls
Results of surveys conducted by the Washington Post as well as links to other polls.
World Public Opinion
Results of studies from polls conducted around the world.
World Values Survey
Tables and graphs from World Values Survey conducted 1981-2004.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License