Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
The International Encyclopedia of Communication
Reference Works - General
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior - Ref BF 31 .E53 2012, 3 vols.
An alphabetical collection of articles on a wide variety of topics, including such specifics as handedness and blushing, as well as broader concepts such as interpersonal communications and intelligence. Each provides an overview of the current knowledge base and provides references to research on the topic.
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions - Ref BF 531 .E55 1999, 2 vols.
A multidisciplinary approach to emotions such as anxiety, commitment, friendship, and hope, with additional entries on important theorists in the field.
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships - Ref HM 1106 .E53 2009
Offers scholarly approaches to basic human relationships and emotions such as envy, social isolation, and abusive and violent relationships. The bibliographies are useful for tracking down related research.
Encyclopedia of Psychology - Ref BF 31 .E52 2000
An authoritative source of articles on topics, methods, findings, advances, and applications in the field. Each article is followed by a current bibliography of the key works on the topic.
Encyclopedia of Sociology - Ref HM425 .E5 2000
This set provides up-to-date and scholarly discussions of topics in the field such as class and race, ethnicity, economic sociology, and social structure. Each article is written by a specialist and all have excellent bibliographies.
Handbook of Psychology - Ref BF121 .H213 2013, 12 vols.
Offers in-depth coverage of current knowledge in the field. Each volume tackles a part of the discipline, including history, research methods, biological psychology, personality and social psychology, developmental, forensic, and clinical psychology. Intended for specialists, these volumes summarize the current accepted knowledge in the field.
International Encyclopedia of Communication - Ref P87.5 .I58 2008
12 vols. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing, 2008. A multidisciplinary compilation of essays on communication, ranging from human-computer interaction to art as a means of communication to communications theory. Each essay is followed by a bibliography of selected sources for further research.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License