Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Baroque Art: A Topical Dictionary - N6415.B3 E18 1996
A topical index to themes found in baroque art.
Dictionary of Art - Ref N 31 .D5 1996
An exhaustive encyclopedia of world art, containing articles written by scholars on artists, movements, works, and subjects, each followed by a selective bibliography.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art - Ref N7560 .H34 2008
Brief discussions of the meaning and sources of recurrent symbols in art, including symbols (e.g. "fish") and religious and classical figures.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art - Ref N 7560 .E53 1998
The purpose of this interesting work is to show how fundamental cultural narratives and themes have been represented in the arts. Includes both stories and general themes such as abandonment, envy, and ecstasy. Each essay ends with lists of works that employ the theme and selected secondary sources. There are 7 indexes to enable seeking out names, Biblical themes, literary references, mythological references, etc.
Encyclopedia of World Art - Ref N 31 .E56
Offers scholarly and thorough articles on artists, movements, media, periods, national traditions, and so on. Each volume has a section of plates in the back. There is an index to the entire set, as well as supplementary volumes presenting newer information. Though more dated than the Dictionary of Art, above, this set remains useful, particularly for its thorough indexing of plates, making it a good source for locating images of art works.
McGraw Hill Dictionary of Art - Ref N33 .M23
This dictionary offers short, signed articles with brief biographies on artists, cities, styles, buildings, etc.
Monuments of Italy: A Regional Survey of Art, Architecture and Archaeology - Ref DG 431 .O67 2002
An exhaustive catalog of Italy's archaeological sites, churches, palaces, and other notable structures. The first five volumes are arranged by region and province; volume six offers a pronunciation guide.
Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1900s - Ref NX 650 .M9 R45 1993
Links Classical subjects and Western art, cataloging under topics, the various expressions of each topic in the fine arts, music, dance, and literature. While it does not claim to be exhaustive, it does provide background information and intriguing connections; includes bibliographic references to published sources for the art works listed.
General Background Sources
Concise Encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance, A - Ref DG445 .C66
A specialized encyclopedia which serves as an in-depth reference to the period.
Dictionary of the Middle Ages - Ref D 114 .D5 1982
13 vols. A scholarly, readable, and beautifully laid-out encyclopedia covering people, events, ideas, movements, texts, and cultural features of the medieval world. Articles are often illustrated with period art work and are followed by bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance - Ref CB 361 .E52 1999 (6 vols.)
Covers nearly 1,200 cultural and historical topics relating to Europe from 1350 to the early seventeenth century.
New Cambridge Modern History - Ref D208 .N4 1990
History from 1493 to 1945 is discussed in this authoritative source. The arrangement is chronological, with detailed tables of contents and indexes in each volume.
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance - Ref CB361.C27 2003
A good place to get quick background on people, places, and concepts.
Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People and Events - Ref D11 .G78 1982
These chronological tables selectively list some of the things happening in a given year in the areas of politics, the arts, religion, philosophy, science, technology, and daily life.
Sources from Other Disciplines
Anchor Bible Dictionary - Ref BS 440 .A54 (6 vol)
This definitive and current work covers not only names, places, and events of the Bible, but also includes cultural history, social institutions, archeological sites, and other topics of particular interest to Biblical scholars today.
Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature - Ref PR 149 .B5 D53 1992
Provides a means of linking Biblical texts, stories, and characters to literary works from the middle ages on. An excellent source for finding out how the Bible has influenced culture, and how the culture has interpreted the Bible in various ways over the years.
Encyclopedia of Religion - Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
Covers religions from around the world and through history as well as people and ideas related to religion. The articles are written by experts in their fields and include excellent bibliographies. This new edition includes hundreds of new articles, thoroughly revised coverage of all topics in religion, and a handful of "visual essays" that illustrate visual culture as a significant aspect of religion.
Harper's Bible Commentary - Ref BS 491.2 .H37 1988
Follows the arrangement of the Bible, giving a brief introduction to each book of the Bible, then a short explanation of major passages. It is very good at making the language of the Bible clear, explaining context, and linking related passages together.
Masterpieces of Catholic Literature in Summary Form - Ref BX885 .M2 1965
Excerpts from major works in Catholic church literature are given here. There is an author index, but no subject index.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Ref CB 9 .N49 2005
Covers a wide range of ideas historically and internationally. Particularly strong for overviews of current ideas taken in historical context, listing essential and significant texts that contributed to the development of concepts.
New Interpreter's Bible - Ref BS 491.2 .N484 1994
A comprehensive commentary in twelve volumes, this leading resource provides the text in two translations, NRSV and New International Version, side by side, along with scholarly commentary.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Ref B 51 .R68 1998
A vast encyclopedia of the field that extends the classic Encyclopedia of Philosophy by adding both new topics and approaches to philosophy, but also by including new approaches and new research on classical philosophy. New areas covered in this work include philosophical approaches based on feminism, postcolonialism, poststructuralism, deconstruction, and postmodernism.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License