Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
Cultural Health Assessment
Call Number: Ref - RT 86.54 .G45 2008
Recommended Reference Works
Countries and Their Cultures - Ref GN 307 .C68 2001
This set covers both national cultures of 225 countries and the cultures of diverse groups within their borders. Covers history, ethnic relations, political life, and religion.
Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States - Ref E 184 .S75 E587 2005
Covers Latinos in the United states in over 650 essays that tackle topics from baseball to Zorro, significant places, groups of people, event, and more. The fourth volume includes significant primary source documents.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures - Ref GN 550 .E53 1991
Covers over 1500 culture groups, alphabetically arranged within regions. The information summarizes information on the distribution, belief systems, kinship structures, and history of the groups and provides selective bibliographies for further research. Consult the index to determine the appropriate name for a particular culture group.
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine - Ref R733 .G34 2004 [vol.]
This four-volume set covers the types of alternative medicine practiced today, conditions and diseases that are assuaged with the use of alternative therapies, and descriptions of the medicinal and health benefits associated with specific herbs and remedies.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - Ref E 184 .A1 G14 2014
Offers over 150 substantial essays on ethnic groups in the U. S., covering origins, circumstances of arrival, family, community, culture, economy, politics, and significant contributions. Each essay ends with a bibliography and contacts for further research.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - Ref E77 .G15 1998
Offers surveys of tribes, including history, migration, subsistence, modern history, and current issues. Use the index to locate nations that may have more than one name in use (e.g. Anishinabe / Ojibwe / Chippewa).
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States - Ref E 184 .S75 O97 2005
Provides lengthy, scholarly articles on all aspects of the topic, including intellectual, social, cultural, and political issues.
Multicultural Clients: A Professional Handbook for Health Care Providers and Social Workers - Ref RA 418.5 .T73 L37 1995
This book covers several population groups in the U.S. and describes their traditional health practices and behaviors including religion, dietary practices, child rearing, and many others.
Pocket Guide to Cultural Health Assessment - Ref RT86.54 .G45 2008
This guide discusses the clinical implications of ethnic populations from over 170 countries, including topics such as languages spoken, health care beliefs and practices; and eye contact.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World - Ref DS 35.53 .O96 2009
Covers countries of the Islamic world and topics related to Islamic religion, history, and culture. Articles are lengthy and scholarly as well as up-to-date.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life - Ref GN 333 .W67 2009
Offers lengthy articles on over 500 culture groups worldwide. Each article surveys the location and homeland of the people and covers a wealth of information on such topics as their language, folklore, religion, rites of passage, interpersonal relations, living conditions, family life, cultural heritage, work, and social issues. Each entry includes a selective bibliography.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License