Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History and Culture
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union - Ref DK 14 .C35 1994
Arranged according to topic, this encyclopedia provides information on the geography, people. religion, history, art and architecture, language and literature, cultural life, sciences, politics, economy, society, military and international relations of Russia. Although somewhat dated, most of the information is still relevant.
Central and South-Eastern Europe - Ref HC 244 .A1 C46 2009
Each country entry contains geographical information, a historical chronology, essays on politics and the economy, a statistical survey and a directory containing names and addresses of organizations and people associated with a variety of areas from government to education. Countries covered include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovnia, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Yugoslavia.
Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia 2002 - Ref HC244.A1 E29 2002
Each country entry contains geographical information, a historical chronology, essays on politics and the economy, a statistical survey and a directory containing names and addresses of organizations and people associated with a variety of areas from government to education. Countries covered are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and the Ukraine.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe from the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism - Ref DJK 6 .E53 2000
Offers long essays on the countries and regions of Eastern Europe as well as shorter entries on history, geography, culture, concepts, and prominent figures.
Encyclopedia of Russian History - Ref DK 14 .E53 2004 (4 vols.)
Offers succinct but scholarly articles on events, cultural developments, ethnic groups, economic issues, organizations, prominent historical figures, and issues in Russian history.
Dictionary of Russian Women Writers - Ref PG 2997 .D53 1994
Covers 448 women writers who in most cases have been neglected in other works. Each entry includes biographical and critical information, a list of publications, and a bibliography of critical sources, most of which are in Russian language publications.
Encyclopedia of Russian and Slavic Myth and Legend - Ref BL 930 .D58 1998
This resource covers the common characters, myths, legends and themes in Russia and the Slavic countries.
Handbook of Russian Literature - Ref PG 2940 .H29 1985
Covers Russian writers, critics, topics such as "folk song," and literary movements. Each essay is concise, and is followed by a bibliography of works in Russian editions, in English translation, and selected secondary sources.
Reference Guide to Russian Literature - Ref PG2940.R44 1998
A guide containing biographical sketches of 273 major Russian writers. Each entry also highlights the author's major works and includes a bibliography of the author's works and a bibliography of critical studies.
Russkie Pisateli 20 veka : biographicheskii slovar* - Ref PG3276.R87 2000
Biographies of twentieth century Russian authors.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License