Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maybe (just maybe) on Microfilm
The microfilm machine and the microfilms are located on the library's first floor in the southwest corner (closest to Olin Hall).
Image from the College and Lutheran Church Archives, Digital Collections, College Photographs
Finding Book Reviews
In addition to finding reviews in databases such as Academic Search Premier, America: History and Life, and JSTOR, we have these print indexes to book reviews:
Book Review Digest - Reference Z1219.B72
H. W. Wilson Company 1905 -
Contains references to book reviews in popular magazines and book trade periodicals such as Publishers Weekly, including a note about the length of the review and brief excerpts.
Book Review Index - Reference Z1035 .A1 B7
Gale Research Company 1965 -
Indexes book reviews for some 50,000 books annually appearing in around 450 popular and scholarly publications. It covers more scholarly books than those indexed in Book Review Digest, but does not provide any excerpts from reviews. Search by title or author.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 - 1974 - Reference Z1035 .A1 C6
Carrollton Press 1979
An author and title index to reviews published in the complete runs of 459 scholarly journals. Because of its focus, it doesn't overlap the Book Review Digest, but covers more specialized journals.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License