Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the catalog using the phrase Indians of North America (used by catalogers rather than Native Americans) or by specific tribe. Tribal names such as Ojibwa, Dakota Indians, Cherokee Indians, etc.
E 76.2 - Indians of North America
PS 153 .I52 - Native American literature
Dictionary of Native American Literature - Ref PM 155 .D53 1994
For biographical and critical information about Native American authors and their works. Bibliographies included for further research.
Documents of American Indian Diplomacy: Treaties, Agreements, and Conventions, 1775-1979 - Ref KF 8202 1999
A collection of legal and diplomatic documents, including analysis and context. A remarkable collection that builds on Kappler's Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties (Ref KF8203 1972b). This work is edited by Vine Deloria, Jr. and Raymond J. DeMallie.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - Ref E77 .G15 1998
Offers surveys of tribes, including history, migration, subsistence, modern history, and current issues. Use the index to locate nations that may have more than one name in use (e.g. Anishinabe / Ojibwe / Chippewa).
Dictionary of Native American Mythology - Ref E 98 .R3 G46 1992
A quick place to locate basic information about figures, events, and topics in Native North American mythology, from all tribes and periods. Includes a useful bibliography.
Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900 - Ref E 89.W35 2001
Includes entries on American Indians and non-Indians including allies, scholars and policy-makers. Includes indexes, which list entries by tribe, area of activity, topic and historical period.
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes - PS 153. 152 W47 1999
Provides entries on major authors, their works and characters.
Native Americans - Ref E93 .N32 2002
Provides essays related to the political and cultural issues surrounding Native Americans. Essays are supplemented by primary source documents.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License