Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spring 2021 reference (research) help:
Finding Book Reviews
Academic Search Premier
Look for more recent books reviews in journals such as Library Journal and Publisher's Weekly, available via Academic Search Premier. You can limit your search to Document Type=Book Review.
Best Books for Children - Ref PN 1009 .A1 B377 2006
This resource contains brief entries for over 23,000 recommended books arranged by literary genre and subject areas. Recommended grade levels are indicated for each book.
Book Review Digest - Reference Z1219.B72
Contains references to book reviews in popular magazines and book trade periodicals such as Publishers Weekly, including a note about the length of the review and brief excerpts.
MLA International Bibliography
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
Ninth Book of Junior Authors and Illustrators - Ref PN 1009 .A1 N58 2004
Contains biographical and critical sketches of children's book authors and illustrators.
ProQuest US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Something About the Author - Ref PN 451 .S6
The single most complete source of biographical and critical information about children's book authors. In addition to lengthy survey articles there are numerous photographs and illustrations. Frequently interviews and autobiographical statements are included. Use the index in the most recent volume to find which volumes include information on a given writer. Note: As of 2009, the library will no longer have an active subscription to Something About the Author, but the older editions will be kept in the Reference Collection.
St. James Guide to Children's Writers - Ref PN 1009 .A1 T9 1999
Each entry contains brief biographical information, listings of the author's publications and a short critical essay examining the work of the author.
Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children - Ref PN 451 .Y4 (vol.)
Provides substantial biographical/critical sketches of children's book authors of the past. Be aware that, because of its publication date, some of the analysis will not reflect contemporary critical approaches or issues.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License