Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contemporary Artists - Ref N 6490 .C6567 2002
Provides biographical profiles of current artists around the world, giving personal background and information on their work, as well as lists of exhibits and bibliographies of sources for further research.
Contemporary Women Artists - Ref N8354 .C66 1999
Biographical and critical information of 20th century women artists.
Dictionary of Art - Ref N 31 .D5 1996
An exhaustive encyclopedia of world art, containing articles written by scholars on artists, movements, works, and subjects, each followed by a selective bibliography.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art - Ref N7560 .H34 2008
Brief discussions of the meaning and sources of recurrent symbols in art, including symbols (e.g. "fish") and religious and classical figures.
Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes - Ref NX4556 .K67 2000
Information on avant-garde individuals and styles in the visual and performing arts
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art - Ref N 7560 .E53 1998
The purpose of this interesting work is to show how fundamental cultural narratives and themes have been represented in the arts. Includes both stories and general themes such as abandonment, envy, and ecstasy. Each essay ends with lists of works that employ the theme and selected secondary sources. There are 7 indexes to enable seeking out names, Biblical themes, literary references, mythological references, etc.
Encyclopedia of World Art - Ref N 31 .E56
Offers scholarly and thorough articles on artists, movements, media, periods, national traditions, and so on. Each volume has a section of plates in the back. There is an index to the entire set, as well as supplementary volumes presenting newer information. Though more dated than the Dictionary of Art, above, this set remains useful, particularly for its thorough indexing of plates, making it a good source for locating images of art works.
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art - Ref N6505 .G76 2010
This five-volume encyclopedia offers good articles and bibliographies on artists, movements, general topics, organizations, etc.
McGraw Hill Dictionary of Art - Ref N33 .M23
This dictionary offers short, signed articles with brief biographies on artists, cities, styles, buildings, etc.
General Background Sources
American Decades - Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994 (10 vols.)
Presents social and cultural history in ten-year periods, covering the arts, business, fashion, law, medicine, religion, and more.
Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia - Ref D 1051 .E97 2001
Though its focus is primarily on political developments, this set also covers cultural, economic, and social trends since World War II. Short, well-documented articles on prominent people, places, events, and institutions.
History in Dispute -Ref D20 .H56 2000
Events in American history from multiple perspectives. Pay particular attention to the volumes on American Social and Political Movements
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture - Ref E 169.1 .S764 2000 (5 vols.)
A compendium of short articles on figures and ideas that were a common part of the American experience in the twentieth century.
Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People and Events - Ref D11 .G78 1982
These chronological tables selectively list some of the things happening in a given year in the areas of politics, the arts, religion, philosophy, science, technology, and daily life.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License