Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spring 2021 reference (research) help:
Atlas of British History - Ref G1811.S2 G5 2011
British Romantic Novelists, 1789-1832 - Ref PS 221 .A5 v. 116
Provides critical essays and bibliographies on British romantic novelists and places them within the larger perspective of literary history. Part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series.
British Romantic Poets, 1789-1832 - Ref PS 221 .A5 v. 93 & v. 96
Part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, these volumes provide critical essays and bibliographies on the poets, and place them within the larger perspective of literary history. Volume 93 covers poets born prior to 1797; volume 96 covers poets born in 1797 or later.
British Romantic Prose Writers, 1789-1832 - Ref PS221 .A5 v. 107 & v. 110
Part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, these volumes cover British Romantic Prose Writers. Writers born in 1775 or earlier are covered in v. 107; v. 100 covers writers born after 1775. Volume 110 includes an appendix on literary magazines of the period, and both volumes include a selected bibliography.
Columbia Companion to British History - Ref DA34 .H64 1997
Encyclopedia of Britain - Ref DA27.5 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 - Ref HN373 .E63 2001
6 vols. Offers substantial, well-documented survey essays on topics such as social change, urban and rural life, gender, popular culture, religion, and everyday life.
Encyclopedia of Romanticism: Culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s - Ref DA 529 .E53 1992
Surveys the social, cultural, and intellectual climate of English Romanticism. Includes bibliographies.
Fashion: Critical and Primary Sources - Ref GT 580 .F374 2009 (v. 1-4)
Critical essays on fashion cover four time periods: Late Medieval to Renaissance, Eighteenth Century, Nineteenth Century, and Twentieth Century to today.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Ref CB 9 .N49 2005
Covers a wide range of ideas historically and internationally. Particularly strong for overviews of current ideas taken in historical context, listing essential and significant texts that contributed to the development of concepts.
Oxford Companion to British History - Ref DA34 .O93 1997
Featured Reference Work
Encyclopedia of Romanticism by
Call Number: Ref DA529 .E53 1992
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License