Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Reference Works
Reference books are excellent tools, especially when you are beginning a research project. They give broad overviews, orienting you to the larger context in which your topic occurs. They can provide definitions and give you ideas for search words. They might also clue you in to the major thinkers in your area. Sometimes they provide resources for further reading, giving you an instant source list. Reference books are on the main floor of the library facing Beck Hall.
Reference Books about Science/Ecology and Religion
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
Call Number: REF BL240.3 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-11
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature by
Call Number: REF BL31 .E465 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-31
The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition by
Call Number: REF BL245 .H57 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-13
Reference Books about Religious Traditions
Contemporary American Religion - Ref BL 2525 .C65 1999
Contains over 500 short articles on facets of American religious life, including organizations, movements, practices, trends, and beliefs.
Encyclopedia of African American Religions - Ref BR 563 .E53 1993
Offers substantial articles on people, organizations, churches, and topics such as "preaching and the preacher in African American Religion" and "theology, black." Includes chronology and introductory essays as well as a thorough bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Evangelicalism - Ref BR 1640 .B35 2004
This handy resource provides information on major figures, events, institutions and history of evangelicalism.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism - Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
Covers creeds, cultural and social issues, important people and institutions, theology, and the diverse traditions and faith groups that make up protestantism, both historically and in contemporary times.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America - Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010 (4 vols.)
Covers a broad range of historical and contemporary topics related to religion in America and includes extensive bibliographies
Handbook of Denominations in the United States - Ref BL 2525 .M425 2005
An excellent one-stop reference for overviews of denominations.
Historical Dictionary of the Seventh-Day Adventists - Ref BX 6153 .L36 2005
This one-volume work highlights major figures and beliefs among Seventh-Day Adventists; it also includes a helpful chronology at the beginning
Introduction to New and Alternative Religions in America - Ref BL 2525 .I58 2006
A five-volume set that contains in-depth articles covering various aspects of American religions movements, ranging from alternative forms of Asian, African, Christian, and Jewish religions to considerations of New Age, Neopagan, and social aspects of alternative religions, such as gender, violence, legal aspects, and Millenialism.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions - Ref BL 2525 .M449 2009
Essays provide overviews of major trends in religion in the United States and Canada, along with detailed descriptions of 24 major religious traditions
New Catholic Encyclopedia - Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
This recently-revised encyclopedia covers many general topics, but is particularly thorough in its coverage of Catholic doctrine, history, and traditional practice. Includes many illustrations.
Religion and American Cultures - Ref BL 2525 .R448 2015
Newly revised, this multi-volume set covers the intersection of culture and various religions in American life, as well as various views individual traditions have toward topics such as the body, death, and sexuality. The set also includes a richness of primary source materials.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License