Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will help you find published research on your tree to include in your tree phenology project. Feel free to stop by the reference desk if you aren't quite sure how these resources work or where to start. If you are not in the library, you can use t he chat box, below.
image courtesy of Dave Morris
Finding Primary Science Articles
Scientists put their observation in the context of what other scientists have discovered. For this lab, you will need to include references to four articles. Try searching for articles about your tree in the following databases. Use the yellow "find it" button to see if the article is available through our library. (In Google Scholar, "find it @ Gustavus" links appear to the right of the references if it's available.) In some cases, you may want to request an article from another library, so don't leave it to the last minute.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) (New PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Though PubMed is primarily a biomedical research database, it indexes journals in organismal biology, too.
Finding Basic Information About Your Tree
The reference section of the library has some field guides that provide basic information about plants, including these books.
The World of Trees - Ref QK475 .J646 2010
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees - Ref QK474.87 .M673 2013
Dirr's Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs - Ref QK474.87 .M673 2013
Trees of the Northern United States and Canada - Ref QK110 .F3 1995
A Natural History of Trees of Eastern and Central North America - Ref QK110 .F3 1995
It is very worthwhile searching the Gustavus Library Catalog for your tree. Try looking under both the common and scientific names.
Primary Articles in Science
You need four references that provide further information about your tree. At least two should be "primary" articles - articles that report on original research conducted by scientists (usually with a note explaining where they work) and written up with other scientists in mind. Generally, there will be an introductory section which reviews related research, a methodology section that explains how the research was carried out, results, and a conclusion.
This example is a primary article by scientists, for scientists.
This example is science journalism for general readers.
For an example of what a primary article looks like, see "anatomy of a scholarly article" from North Carolina State University.
, Art and Art History
, Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License