Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Places to Search for Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Full-text backfiles to over 350 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, and Language & Literature collections. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year. To limit your search to full text articles, make sure that the option to "include links to external content" is turned off.
Project Muse Basic College Collection
Project MUSE provides full text electronic access to over 100 scholarly journals in humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. Topics covered include literary theory; classics; history and cultural studies; philosophy; film, theatre and the performing arts; political science and mathematics.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Multidisciplinary citation index covering the journal literature of the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social work, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. Indexes 2,697 journals across social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Selected Journals to Consult
Nota bene the special issue on "Cities for People, Not for Profit," volume 13, issue 2/3, 2009. Indexed in Academic Search Premier.
Full text available via Interlibrary Loan (some articles available for free at the publisher's website).
Of particular interest are the articles in the special issue on "Social Transformation, Citizenship, and the Right to the City," volume 58, issue 2/3, October 2002.
International Journal of Urban and Regional Researcn
See for instance articles in the special issue on the "Global Urban Frontiers: Asian Cities in Theory, Practice and Imagination" workshop, volume 37, issue 3, May 2013. Indexed in Academic Search Premier.
Full text available via Interlibrary Loan.
See the two special issues on "Rights, Space & Homelessness," volume 30, issue 6, 2009, and volume 31, issue 6, 2010. Indexed in Social Sciences Citation Index.
Full text available via Interlibrary Loan.
Selected Articles on the "Right to the City"
Below is just a sampling of articles available on the right to the city. Most of these citations were found in Academic Search Premier. Reminder: when searching library databases, if a full text PDF does not appear, use the yellow "Find It!" button to request an article through Interlibrary Loan.
Attoh, Kafui A. "What Kind of Right Is the Right to the City?" Progress in Human Geography 35.5 (2011): 669-685.
Friendly, Abigail. "The Right to the City: Theory and Practice in Brazil." Planning Theory & Practice 14.2 (2013): 158-179.
Harvey, David. "The Right to The City." International Journal of Urban & Regional Research 27.4 (2003): 939-941.
Meagher, Sharon M. "Critical Thinking about the Right to the City: Mapping Garbage Routes." City 14.4 (2010): 427-433.
Pietrus, Matthew F. "The Right to the City in the Informal Sector: Claiming Rights or Gaining Access in Kampala, Uganda?" Geographical Bulletin 56.1 (2015): 3-26.
Purcell, Mark. "Possible Worlds: Henri Lefebvre and the Right to the City." Journal of Urban Affairs 36.1 (2014): 141-154.
Shin, Hyun Bang. "The Right to the City and Critical Reflections on China's Property Rights Activism." Antipode 45.5 (2013): 1167-1189
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License