Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies
Publication Date: 2005
Recommended Reference Works
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport - Ref GV567 .B48 2013
This encyclopedia covers the culture, history, and business of sports around the world. Specific topics include: women's sports, extreme sports, management and marketing, sports medicine, doping scandals, sporting goods, extreme and fantasy sports, environmental sustainability, and technological innovations in sports.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media - Ref P 96.S5 E53 2012
This encyclopedia critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies - Ref GV567 .E483 2006
This 3 volume set provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the science, social science and medicine of sport. Organized alphabetically, the set covers topics such as: sports economics, sports history, resistance training, diagnosis of sports injuries, cross training, projectile motion, metabolism, overview, motivation, overview, muscle tension length relationship.
International Encyclopedia of Communication - Ref P87.5 .I58 2008
12 vols. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing, 2008. A multidisciplinary compilation of essays on communication, ranging from human-computer interaction to art as a means of communication to communications theory. Each essay is followed by a bibliography of selected sources for further research.
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports - Ref GV 709 .I58 2000
This unique resource contains entries focusing on women's roles in individual sports, in sports in regions and nations throughout the world, in sports events, and in sports organizations. Health issues and general issues such as advertising and youth sports are also covered. Biographies of major figures in women's sports are included.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License