Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Reference Books
Consulting reference books is a great way to start your research. These encyclopedias provide overviews of topics, give you ideas for search terms, and often provide citations to leading research on a topic. Reference books are found on the main floor of the library, Beck Hall side. Here are a few that might help with your projects:
American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide - Ref RA784 .D89 2012
Offers tips and guidelines for following a healthy diet, from choosing the right food at the supermarket to eating well at every stage in life.
Cambridge World History of Food - Ref TX353 .C255 2001 (2 vols.)
Volume one includes essays on determining what early humans ate, staple foods, dietary liquids, and nutrients. Volume two covers food and drink around the world; history, nutrition, and health; and contemporary food-related policy issues. It also includes a dictionary of plant foods. A bibliography accompanies each essay.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture - Ref GT 2850 .E53 2003
A wide-ranging exploration of food and its cultural significance worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology - Ref TP 368.2 .E62 2000
Covers fundamental concepts and practical requirements in food science, as well as cutting-edge technological and industry information. The encyclopedia features A-to-Z coverage of all aspects of food science, including: the properties, analysis, and processing of foods; genetic engineering of new food products; nutrition monitoring; chemical & microbiological food safety; functional foods & neutraceuticals in food formulation; food substitutes, and more.
Encyclopedia of Junk Food and Fast Food - Ref TX 370 .S63 2006
More than 250 essay entries explore products, corporations and entrepreneurs, social history, popular culture, organizations, issues, politics, commercialism and consumerism, and more. Entries include: mad cow disease and factory farming, vegetarianism, the food pyramid, movie tie-ins, obesity, and marketing to children.
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food - Ref HD 9005 .E645 2010
This encyclopedia illuminates social concerns, economic trends, policy influences, and ecological terms to provide a comprehensive overview. It covers key trends, activities, and themes in organic, sustainable, and local food through topics such as consumers, organizations, farming, policies, and more.
Oxford Companion to Food - Ref TX349 .D38 1999
Provides 2,650 entries on topics related to food, from aardvark to zucchini. Includes a bibliography.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America - Ref TX 349 .E45 2013
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. In an A-Z format, this two-volume set details the regions, people, ingredients, foods, drinks, publications, advertising, companies, historical periods, and political and economic aspects pertinent to American cuisine.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License