Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Reference Works
Reference works provide overviews of topics, ideas for search terms, and sometimes provide citations or recommendations for future reading. They are essential resources for when you are starting your research, as they will provide the broader context of your topic. They are also useful to consult midway through your research (or even toward the end), as reading a broad treatement of your topic can help you identify any gaps you may have in your research.
Reference books are located on the Beck Hall side of the library's main floor. While they cannot be checked out, you can scan pages using the library scanners.
Companion to African Literatures - Ref PR 9340 .C65 2000
The entries - authors, titles, and selected thematic subjects - are in one alphabetical sequence. A list of themes and topics, subdivided by geographic regions, is provided.
Companion to the French Revolution
Ref DC147 .P38 1988
This easy-to-use and comprehensive reference contains short entries on well over 1000 persons, places, events, institutions, etc., relating to the French Revolution and the early Napoleonic period.
Cultural Atlas of Africa - Ref G 2446.E6 C8 1998
The Cultural Atlas of Africa vividly depicts the rich culture, history, and geography of this vast land through a brilliant melding of text and lavish images.
Cultural Atlas of France - Ref G 1844.21 E64 A7 1991
Provides informations on the geography, history, culture and society of France with numerous maps, pictures and photographs. Includes a section on the various regions in France.
Dictionary of Modern French Literature From the Age of Reason through Realism - Ref PQ 41 .D65 1986
Around three hundred entries on writers, literary works, and literary movements in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries are given here, with bibliographies and a chronology of French history and literature.
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture - Ref DT 3 .P27 2005
Each volume covers a different period in African history, from ancient times to independence. Within each volume brief articles cover countries, ethnic groups, important historical figures, events, and concepts. For each volume, there are maps and chronologies for the period covered. Both North Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa are included in coverage.
Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature - Ref PN849. C3 E53 2006 (2 vols.)
Alphabetical entries on authors and topics related to anglophone, Dutch, francophone and Hispanic Caribbean literature. Each is followed by a brief multi-lingual bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture - Ref DC 33.7 .E53 1998
Covers various facets of French culture including film, intellectual life, media, music, performing arts and politics. Provides brief biographies of major figures in French culture.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures - Ref F1406.E515 2000 (3 vols.)
Includes entries on cultural topics such as architecture, cinema, food and drink, the media, music, politics, and religion, as well as biographical sketches of important cultural figures.
Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History - Ref D 740 .E516 2005 (5 vols.)
These two specialized encyclopedias offer articles on a variety of topics related to the two world wars.
Europa Regional Surveys of the World
This excellent series provides detailed information on countries, including history, economy, and government, as well as statistical data and a comprehensive directory of political and cultural organizations. Books in this series are shelved throughout the Reference section. Search "regional surveys of the world" in the library catalog to find the book for your country.
French Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Source Book - Ref PQ 149 .F73 1991
Author entries include a biography, examination of major themes and a survey of criticism. Includes a bibliography of each author's works and a bibliography of studies?papers written about the author.
Guide to French Literature, 1789 to the Present - Ref PQ 41 .L46 1992
Lengthy biographical and critical appraisals of writers in the French language, including prominent colonial and post-colonial writers in the Caribbean and Africa. Some entries cover literary movements such as Dada. Each article is followed by a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Historical dictionary of France from the 1815 restoration to the Second Empire
Ref DC256 .H57 1987
Contains more than 900 articles written by 75 scholars from countries throughout the world dealing with major people, places, and events in France from 1815 to 1852.
Historical dictionary of World War II France : the Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946
Ref DC397 .H58 1998
The most comprehensive reference work in its field, this book covers a broad range of topics—military, political, economic, social, painting, literature, music, cinema, dance, theater, sports, and daily life—related to France and her empire during World War II.
History of French Literature: From Chanson de Geste to Cinema - PQ 103 .C67 2002
Provides an overview of poetry, prose and drama including mojor figures and themes in French literature from the Middle Ages to the present day.
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia - Ref DC 33.2 .M44 1995
An overview of medieval France with topics pertaining to politics, economics, religion, literature, art and society.
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French - Ref PQ 41 .N48 1995
Covers people, works, topics, and concepts related to French literature and the literature of the francophone world.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License