Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books are a great place to start your research, as they provide overviews of topics and give you a sense of the breadth and depth of a particular topic. Here are a few that might be useful for your work; note that this is not an exhaustive list, so you should also browse nearby shelves to find related reference works:
Reference works related to Islam:
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World - Ref BP 40 .E525 2004
Provides an overview of individuals, concepts, and topics related to Islam.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States - Ref BP67 .U6 E53 2007
Volume one contains entries about Islam in the United States; volume two contains primary documents and further investigations into topics such as citizenship, gender, and September 11.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World - Ref DS 35.53 .O96 2009
Covers countries of the Islamic world and topics related to Islamic religion, history, and culture. Articles are lengthy and scholarly as well as up-to-date.
Sexuality and the World's Religions - Ref BL65.S4 S5 2003
"What do the world's most important religious texts have to say about one of humanity's favorite activities? Editors David W. Machacek and Melissa M. Wilcox have brought together top scholars in the field of religious studies to ask and answer these critical questions. Carefully researched, elegantly written, and respectfully presented, Sexuality and the World's Religions explores the intersection of the spiritual and the carnal in Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Daoism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and African and Native American spiritual traditions."
Reference works related to Gender & Sexuality:
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Breast REF GT 498 .B74 C85 2014
An excellent, concise volume outlining the various ways breasts have been addressed and represented throughout history, including bra burning, beauty ideals, breast changes during pregnancy, and breasts in art. A companion volume to the Cultural Encyclopedia of the Penis.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Penis REF GT 498 .P45 C85 2014
This one volume work provides concise yet detailed information on the penis as it has been represented and understood throughout history. Topics include anatomy, the penis in religion, urinals and manscaping. A companion volume to the Cultural Encyclopedia of the Breast.
Dictionary of Feminist Theory - Ref HQ 1115 .H86 1995
Covers theoretical issues in feminism and is particularly useful for putting them in historical context. Helpful for pinpointing primary documents relating to feminist theory.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media - Ref P 96.S5 E53 2012
This encyclopedia critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Ref HQ16 .E52 2007
Broad theoretical essays address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation - all through the lens of gender.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America - Ref HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004
Offers in depth articles on over 500 topics related to GLBT history, including events, communities, individuals, professions, legal issues, and topics such as "coming out," "closet," and "gay liberation."
Reference works related to Pop Culture:
Fashion and Costume in American Popular Culture: A Reference Guide - Ref GT 601 .O56 1996
This reference work details various aspects of clothing in American pop culture.
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture REF E169.1 .H2643 2002
This four volume set provides essays on a variety of topics related to pop culture.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion - Ref GT 507 .E53 2005 (3 vols.)
An interdisciplinary compendium of information about fashion, with articles on topics as specific as "zoot suit" to as wide-ranging as "globalization." Also includes articles on such topics as footbinding, sweatshops, and body piercing.
American Decades - Ref E 169.12 .A419 1994 (10 vols.)
Presents social and cultural history in ten-year periods, covering the arts, business, fashion, law, medicine, religion, and more.
American Decades Primary Sources - Ref E169.1 .A471977 (10 vols.)
This resource provides excerpts from primary sources for each decade from 1900-1999. Topics covered range from the arts to science and technology. Although this set does not contain whole documents, it does provide an introduction to each document and explains its significance.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture - Ref E 169.1 .S764 2000 (5 vols.)
A compendium of short articles on figures and ideas that were a common part of the American experience in the twentieth century.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License