Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Reference Books
Consulting reference books is a great way to start your research. These encyclopedias provide overviews of topics, give you ideas for search terms, and often provide citations to leading research on a topic. Reference books are found on the main floor of the library, Beck Hall side. I've listed several reference works that might help with your projects.
African American Political Thought REF E185 .A2536 2003
Provides in-depth essays on African American political thought from the colonial period through the present.
Almanac of American Politics - Ref JK 1012 .A44
Summarizes the state of politics at both national and state levels, giving vote results on key issues and state-by-state analysis of important issues. Updated biennially.
America at the Polls - Ref JK524 .A73 1994
This 2 volume set provides invaluable information about election results from 1920 - 1996
America Goes Green : an Encyclopedia of Eco-friendly Culture in the United States - REF GE197 .A63 2013
Covers environmental issues and impacts in the United States in 3 volumes, including state-by-state assessments, primary source documents, and green resources.
American Presidents - Ref E176.1 .A6566 2000
Includes detailed biographical sketches of the presidents, including election information.
Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion - Ref BL 65 .P7 E53 2007
Offers overview articles on a wide variety of topics including places, people, faith traditions, and controversial issues such as creationism.
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress - Ref JK 1067 .E63 1995
Contains over 1,000 articles on the character and history of Congress, including surveys of issues and how they have been dealt with, people, concepts, and the ways Congress works.
Presidential Elections 1789-2008 - Ref JK 528 .P75 2010
Provides an overview of the presidential election system, a chronology of elections from Washington to Obama, and vote totals and percentages. Includes references and an index.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States - General Collection J80 .A283
A repository of proclamations, speeches, statements, etc. of presidents, kept up to date by the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. Volumes from 1992 on are available online
Religion and American Cultures - Ref BL 2525 .R448 2015
Newly revised, this multi-volume set covers the intersection of culture and various religions in American life, as well as various views individual traditions have toward topics such as the body, death, and sexuality. The set also includes a richness of primary source materials.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License