Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 278. Center for International and Cultural Education. Records of the Center for International and Cultural Education, 1968-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Center for International and Cultural Education.  Records of the Center for International and Cultural Education, 1968-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 278.  5 Records Center Cartons and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Center for International and Cultural Education collection consists of administrative and financial records, reviews, reports, committee minutes, materials regarding the International Student Organization, and financial materials and course information for study abroad programs.  The Center for International and Cultural Education has been known as International Programs and the Office of International Education, before using its current name.  Since its inception, the mission has been the same, to provide opportunities for Gustavus students to learn about different countries and cultures by visiting them, and to increase diversity on campus by bringing international students to Gustavus Adolphus College.

Organization Note

“The Center for International and Cultural Education implements the mission of Gustavus Adolphus College to develop culturally and globally engaged students.  A cross-cultural and internationalized perspective, both on campus and in off-campus environments, is essential to a quality education, to building scholarly standing, to augmenting service to society and to developing a critical awareness of the common problems facing the world. Internationalized education at Gustavus moves students to understand the richness of culture; the complexities of religion, economics and ethnicity; the nuances of power; and the histories of many people, which results in different worldviews. We value diversity and cohesion, and acknowledge that there are many different ways of knowing. Our goal is to prepare students who can communicate freely with others in the realm of ideas, think critically, and who can act as responsible, concerned citizens of an ever-changing world.”

 

*Taken from website https://gustavus.edu/cice/ on 29 June 2011.

Scope and Content

The Center for International and Cultural Education is divided into four series: Administrative, International Students, Study Abroad, and Miscellaneous.

Administrative, 1968-Ongoing holds administrative records for the CICE, including financial information, reviews, reports, and minutes from the International Education Committee.  Series arranged by content areas, alphabetically, then chronologically.

International Students, 1974-Ongoing consists of information from the International Student Organization, including by-laws, financial information, and minutes.  Also included are photos of international students, and information about International Friendship Families, a program that matches each international student with a host family in the St. Peter community.  Series arranged alphabetically, then chronologically.

Study Abroad, 1969-Ongoing contains correspondence, contracts, financial information, and course information from different colleges and universities that have hosted exchange students from Gustavus.  Also included is information about Gustavus sponsored programs, January Term programs, and orientation materials.  Gustavus sponsors its own  study abroad programs, and offers programs through other organizations, most often with HECUA (Higher Education Consortium for Urban Affairs) and UMAIE (Upper Midwest Association for Intercultural Education.)  Series arranged by content areas, alphabetically, then chronologically.

International Photography Contest, 2005-Ongoing is composed of submissions and photo calendars.  The International Photography Contest is held in the fall and open to current students who have traveled or studied abroad in the previous two years.  The Gustavus community then votes for three winners in each of three categories: Human Interest, Cultural Landscape, and Popular Vote.  Digital copies of the winning images can be found on the Archives website.

Miscellaneous, 1981-Ongoing has information about the International Center, International Photo Calendars, newsletters, and newspaper clippings.  Series arranged alphabetically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License