Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You'll be choosing an object from the past and studying its context. This guide provides some possible starting points for finding art objects to choose from and for exploring the world they came from.
Elephant Clock Illustration from The Book of Knowledge of Ingenious Mechanical Devices, c. 1315, Metropolitan Museum of Art
Browsing Art Books
You will find art books in two main sections of the library, both on the upper level. GENERAL COLLECTION books are found on the side facing Beck Halll under the call numbers starting with N. Since many art books are too large to fit on the regular shelves, you will also find art books in the OVERSIZED COLLECTION, in the south-west corner of the upper level (closer to Olin Hall).
A good spot to browse in would be books with call numbers between N5900 and N6210, but some relevant books will be shelved elsewhere.
Browsing Art Online
ARTstor Digital Library is a subscription database providing over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, with a suite of software tools for teaching and research. Includes material from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
If you prefer to browse online, these sources for images may be helpful.
CDRI: Digital Resources for the Study of Religion
From the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools, the Cooperative Digital Resource Initiative (CDRI) provides access to a large set of high-quality digital resources for the study of religion. This impressive digital image collection features items as diverse as woodcuts, coins, maps, postcards, sermons, and other ephemera. Search for keywords, or browse the collections thematically.
WorldImages contains over 50,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. Its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. Use a variety of search techniques, or browse some 500 portfolios organized into subject groupings. (Description from home page.)
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
January 2021 reference (research) help:
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License